Red Gate forums :: View topic - Can I deactivate software without an internet connection?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup Previous Versions
SQL Backup Previous Versions forum

Can I deactivate software without an internet connection?

Search in SQL Backup Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
mclovin



Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Can I deactivate software without an internet connection? Reply with quote

I don't want to try it unless I know the intended effects, but, when I go through the dialog box to deactivate the software for a given serial number on a particular machine, do I have to have internet access to complete the deactivation, or is everything done locally? Thanks, David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your post into the forum.

Unfortunately to deactivate SQL Backup an internet connection must be established. Without an internet connection our Activation Server will not be able to free up the activation.

I hope this helps.
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jerryhung



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just found out about this the other day, when I ran out of my SQL Backup license #, so I downloaded the Deactivation Tool, and un-activated on some machines

Question for Red Gate, is there a way to know the machines that are activated? like desktop1, desktop2, server1, server2...

I keep thinking I only have 4 installed and not 5 (license limit?)

By the way, for the Deactivation Tool, can I "just" deactivate SQL Backup in a Toolbelt bundle?
I don't need SQLBackup on my laptop but rather want them on the servers instead. When I tried to deactivate, it only lets me deactivate the entire Toolbelt bundle

Thanks
_________________
Jerry Hung
DBA, MCITP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jerry,

You cannot deactivate only SQL Backup but if you deactivate all products, reactivate again with SQL Compare, Data Compare etc it should activate all the products except SQL Backup.

You should then be able to use the SQL Backup activation on another machine.

Running the following command on all SQL Servers with SQL Backup installed will return their licensing information :

execute master..sqbutility 1021, @LicenseType OUTPUT, @Version OUTPUT, @SerialNumber OUTPUT, @DateInstalled OUTPUT, @DateFirstUsed OUTPUT, @RevokeErrorsv4 OUTPUT, @Warningsv5 OUTPUT;

The function takes no additional parameters, and returns seven values an integer @LicenseType, which will be one of the following:


Code:
@LicenseType   Definition
0                       No License the trial period has expired.
1                       Trial License (equivalent to Professional in features,    but only valid for 14 days).  Trial Extensions also fall in this category.
2                      Standard License
3                      Professional License
6                      'Lite' License


I hope this helps.
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group