Red Gate forums :: View topic - Ants Spike Test Always Fails
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Load
ANTS Load forum

Ants Spike Test Always Fails

Search in ANTS Load forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
Aviram



Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: Ants Spike Test Always Fails Reply with quote

Hey,

I am trying to do a spike test and it always fails for me. I try as low as a 5 user spike test. The script size does not matter (I went as low as just logging in to an e-mail account and e-mail myself a simple message).

I have tried this test from a P4 PC with 1gig ram and high speed connection, as well as trying this from a server.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6668

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Can you please let me know what the failure is? For instance, do the results show that the test failed (5% of requests fell outside of the set criteria) or does the ANTS Load program actually throw an error message?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aviram



Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Brian,

The failure is always : 5 virtual clients *FAILED*

If I use a greater point then I get that number.

I would say it is the site, but I have tested numerous sites that I know can handle way more then 5 users at a time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6668

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I suppose there are a few things you could look into to make the test results appear 'successful'. On one hand, you could up the number of seconds that are unacceptable for 5% of requests or more in the load settings. You can also 'ignore the first x seconds of the test'. Sometimes, you will get a few requests that are way, way off, and you can possibly filter these out this way.

It also depends on the test scenario -- for instance maybe your site can handle 5 users, but if the Sleep() pauses in the script are really short or nonexistent, it's not a realistic test. A real user might stop to read a page for a few minutes, for instance, so long pages should have long sleep times between them. Any recorded script be accurate already as the Sleep times are the same as the user session that had created the script. If the script was created by hand, though, there is a possibility that you're following one request right after another, which would probably be many more requests per second than 5 users would normally generate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group