Red Gate forums :: View topic - Unmanaged memory breakdown by module not visible
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Memory Profiler 8
ANTS Memory Profiler 8 forum

Unmanaged memory breakdown by module not visible

Search in ANTS Memory Profiler 8 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
wolfi



Joined: 09 Jan 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:19 pm    Post subject: Unmanaged memory breakdown by module not visible Reply with quote

Hello. Could you tell me if I'm doing something wrong here?
I'm using the trial version of Ants Memory Profiler 8.2, on a Windows 7 on 32 bits machine. I created a session with "Profile unmanaged memory allocations" checkbox checked for a .net executable (framework 1.1), taken 2 snapshots, but I don't see on the summary page the section for unmanaged memory breakdown. Is it visible only in the full version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

The trial version does have all the same features as the full version, but unmanaged profiling is just not supported for .NET 1.1 applications, I'm sorry to say.

I can't seem to find this in our documentation at the moment--my apologies for that! I'll request that this information be added.

(Just a note: The "Objects that are / are not disposed" filter is also not available for .NET 1.1 apps. More details here )
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammohan_ags



Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Location: Hyderabad, India

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:47 pm    Post subject: Unmanaged memory breakdown by module not visible Reply with quote

I'm using the full version of Ants Memory Profiler 8.2, on a Windows 7 on 32 bits machine. I have created a sample Hello World ASP.net application on framework 3.5, and I am not able to see "Unmanaged memory breakdown by module not visible" on summary page. Do I need to enable something on the tool to view this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Yes, you'll want to make sure that the 'Profile unmanaged memory allocations' option is enabled (under 'Additional profiler options') before you start profiling.

Hope that helps!
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group