Red Gate forums :: View topic - Blocking when deleting from tables
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 2
SQL Data Generator 2 forum

Blocking when deleting from tables

Search in SQL Data Generator 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
JimboJet



Joined: 01 Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, England

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:26 pm    Post subject: Blocking when deleting from tables Reply with quote

Hi All,

Has anyone experienced blocking when SDG deletes from tables before a load?

I'm using sp_who2 to investigate and the DELETE SPID is being blocked by a SELECT SPID. When I KILL the SPID doing the blocking SDG is then blocked by another SELECT SPID, and so on..

N.B. the SPIDs are SDG SPIDs...

The only way to get out is to KILL the DELETE SPID and restart the program.

This doesn't happen every time I use SDG, probably 7 out of every 10 times?

Any help, much appreciated..

Cheers,

Jim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry you are experiencing this.
We are aware of this issue and it has been assigned the internal reference number of SDG-1008.
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimboJet



Joined: 01 Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, England

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a work around for this issue.

Before generating data, save your project and then refresh the schema.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beyond



Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also experiencing the same issue, very annoying.

It looks like the tool leaves open transactions against the server, reading from the table(s) we are trying to populate.

I look forward to a fix coming out soon!
_________________
You always have a choice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimboJet



Joined: 01 Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:23 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

beyond wrote:
I am also experiencing the same issue, very annoying.

It looks like the tool leaves open transactions against the server, reading from the table(s) we are trying to populate.

I look forward to a fix coming out soon!


Just make sure you hit 'Save' and 'Refresh Schema' before you run your generation plan after you've made any changes and this seems to drop the offending transactions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group