Red Gate forums :: View topic - The database owner SID recorded in the master database
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Test
SQL Test forum

The database owner SID recorded in the master database

Search in SQL Test forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
bdill



Joined: 15 Feb 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:42 am    Post subject: The database owner SID recorded in the master database Reply with quote

Error when adding a database.

X Installing Test Framework

Code:
The database owner SID recorded in the master database differs from the database owner SID recorded in database 'Database'.  You should correct the situation by resetting the owner of database 'Database' using ALTER AUTHORIZATION statement.


This database is a restore from another server, so I'm used to dropping and re-adding user accounts b/c of SID issues, however the owner of the database in question is a domain account with permissions on both servers.

Based on my searching, it appears to be having trouble installing the CLR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6667

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post. You are having a problem with your SQL Server because you have restored a master database from another server and the Security IDs are not going to match up, so you will have to reassociate them. You can check the ALTER AUTHORIZATION command in your SQL Server documentation or have a look at this blog post: http://blog.strictly-software.com/2009/09/database-owner-sid-recorded-in-master.html

(please note we do not take any responsibility for incorrect information in either source)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bradwist



Joined: 18 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:23 pm    Post subject: Database vs Master SID Reply with quote

it strikes me that this is an odd test to run before installing this.

I can (and do) have databases on my system that have different owners, and the owners are not the owners of the master database.

The only reason that I can think of to force the SID to be the same for the Master Database and the User database is because of the CLR usage, which can sometimes run into problems if the SIDs are mismatched.

Is that the reason for this check? i'm curious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6667

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a question about databases originating from a different server so the point is, all of the database security IDs will be different as they are generated by another server. Again, if you have SQL Server questions, I'd recommend asking the SQL Server community, for instance www.sqlservercentral.com.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group