Red Gate forums :: View topic - BLOB showing up as changed even though no changes
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare 10
SQL Data Compare 10 forum

BLOB showing up as changed even though no changes

Search in SQL Data Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
planetawylie



Joined: 03 Jul 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:32 pm    Post subject: BLOB showing up as changed even though no changes Reply with quote

Hi,

When I compare 2 tables for changes, the BLOB data is compared and shows up in the final output script sql as an UPDATE, even though nothing changed.

What would cause this to happen? How is the BLOB compare done...is it because the actual storage of the BLOB data is slightly different in one database to the next.

Thanks, Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 941
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your support request.

A support call has been created for you HERE. (You may need to create a RedgateID to be able to view and update it.)

Can you please update the call or send an email to [support@red-gate.com] quoting call reference #24022, with an example of what you are experiencing?

Please check to see if you have the 'Trim trailing spaces' option selected or enabled? Edit project ->Options tab ->Comparison Behavior section ->Trim trailing white space.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
planetawylie



Joined: 03 Jul 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

eddie davis wrote:
Thank you for your support request.

A support call has been created for you HERE. (You may need to create a RedgateID to be able to view and update it.)

Can you please update the call or send an email to [support@red-gate.com] quoting call reference #24022, with an example of what you are experiencing?

Please check to see if you have the 'Trim trailing spaces' option selected or enabled? Edit project ->Options tab ->Comparison Behavior section ->Trim trailing white space.

Many Thanks
Eddie


Hi,

I already have the 'Trim trailing white space' option selected. And what would need to be uploaded to the support team, two blobs that were compared? If so, I'll need to anonymize everything in it first.

Thanks, Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group