Red Gate forums :: View topic - Config error only when running website under profiler
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Memory Profiler 8
ANTS Memory Profiler 8 forum

Config error only when running website under profiler

Search in ANTS Memory Profiler 8 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
A.User



Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:03 pm    Post subject: Config error only when running website under profiler Reply with quote

I'm currently trialling memory profiler to help identify and resolve suspected memory leak issues on a .net 2 site. When I first installed the trial it worked straightaway and gave some interesting results (somewhat stymied by the lack of any of our classes in the instance retention graph for the biggest culprits but that's an aside for now).

Trouble is, now the site doesn't work in the profiler and I'm not sure what's changed. The site executes fine in iis going to it outside of profiler. To start with I was getting a duplicate config section error - fair enough a section was in both machine.config and web.config but it worked fine before. I've gotten past this by removing that section in web.config, but now I'm getting unrecognized attribute 'targetFramework'.

This is present because the .net 2 site is making calls to a .net 4 authentication layer. The .net 4 layers run in their own sites with their own app pools set to .net 4 so I'm not sure why this error is occurring and why it didn't come up when I first installed the profiler.

Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 591

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the memory profiler may have got confused over which app pool it should be using (its using a .net 4 app pool).

I'm quite confident this is related to changes in the config files.

If you want things to "just work" again- I'd recommend starting from zero - its usually far quicker than full debugging- we can always do this later if, indeed, it ever arises again (plenty of things seem to sort themselves out on fresh deployments, in my experience). So deploy a fresh install of AMP on a different machine, make sure the web site is 100% working before profiling and retry profiling multiple times without changing anything. If it happens again- try and document the exact step that happened immediately before it not working. This will vastly reduce the time it takes to solve exactly why its happening. It could be several factors- as I say, I suspect the config files, but it could also be errant environment variable, file permissions and a few other things that would take a long time to trouble-shoot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.User



Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'll update this thread with any further information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group