Red Gate forums :: View topic - Automate commandline tool using a project
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare 10
SQL Data Compare 10 forum

Automate commandline tool using a project

Search in SQL Data Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
kdixon



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:52 pm    Post subject: Automate commandline tool using a project Reply with quote

I am attempting to keep a reporting database in sync with our production database. There are about 13 tables, most without PK's, and require a custom key, made of several fields, for comparison. To try and simplify this, I have created a project that includes the requirements and works great to sync the tables manually. But, it does not work when running it from the command line. It appears to do the comparison, but it does not run the update. What am I missing?

I'm currently using the the following syntax:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Data Compare 10\sqldatacompare.exe" /Project:"c:\DTS Executables\RedgateScripts\MyProject.sdc" /include:identical

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you are missing the synchronize switch.

/Synchronize

Alias: /sync

Deploys the data after comparison.


http://documentation.red-gate.com/display/SDC10/Switches+used+in+the+command+line

You command will become

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Data Compare 10\sqldatacompare.exe" /Project:"c:\DTS Executables\RedgateScripts\MyProject.sdc" /include:identical /sync
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdixon



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! I knew it was something simple I was missing. I'll add that and give it a go.

Thanks for the quick reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group