Red Gate forums :: View topic - Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 6
SQL Prompt 6 forum

Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?

Search in SQL Prompt 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
pvanhouse



Joined: 15 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:32 pm    Post subject: Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet? Reply with quote

I have many snippets where input is required. Is there a way to automate the ctrl-shift-m to open the prompt popup?

I am coming from dbForge, which integrated snippets and input without a separate pop-up screen.
_________________
Paul Van House
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 189
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Paul,
This makes sense to me. Do you think this should be optional behaviour or should we automatically detect parameters and popup anytime they are inside a snippet?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvanhouse



Joined: 15 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:01 pm    Post subject: Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet? Reply with quote

I would never assume everybody wants a feature. I think it would have to be an option to auto-open the prompt box...but only auto-open if there are parameters present.
_________________
Paul Van House
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvanhouse



Joined: 15 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:05 pm    Post subject: Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet? Reply with quote

Or instead of an option, perhaps some sort of indicator within the snippet like *AUTOPOP*
_________________
Paul Van House
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you think of a situation in which you wouldn't want a parameterized snippet to pop up the dialog?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pvanhouse



Joined: 15 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't think of one, but in the past I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.

In this instance If it were just me I would always have the box pop up if there are parameters present. (Seems like a no-brainer Embarassed )
_________________
Paul Van House
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm inclined to agree. However, if this were a no-brainer, why wouldn't Microsoft have implemented it this way? I guess it could always be implemented without an option, and we'll quickly find out if this falls short of expectations!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 189
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 6.3 beta should have this feature in if you'd like to give it a go.

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works really well for me! Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chal3oye



Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.
_________________
GuL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:10 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

chal3oye wrote:
I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.


Do you think that this should also be an option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group