Red Gate forums :: View topic - Sql Compare 10 doesn't produce any errors
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare 10
SQL Compare 10 forum

Sql Compare 10 doesn't produce any errors

Search in SQL Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Saurin



Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:04 pm    Post subject: Sql Compare 10 doesn't produce any errors Reply with quote

I have been using SQL Compare 10 recently upgraded from 8 to 10 version and I have found that 10 doesn't produce any errors.

Does anybody has same issue like me? Sql Compare 8 was producing errors each time unlike Sql Compare 10.

Further, I am using Command as shown below.

"d:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Compare 10\SQLCompare.exe" /server1:tcp:ServerName /database1:Database1 /makescripts:d:\Temp\Database1 /options:CaseSensitiveObjectDefinition /force
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saurin



Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Sql Compare 10 doesn't produce any errors Reply with quote

Saurin wrote:
I have been using SQL Compare 10 recently upgraded from 8 to 10 version and I have found that 10 doesn't produce any errors.

Does anybody has same issue like me? Sql Compare 8 was producing errors each time unlike Sql Compare 10.

Further, I am using Command as shown below.

"d:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Compare 10\SQLCompare.exe" /server1:tcp:ServerName /database1:Database1 /makescripts:d:\Temp\Database1 /options:CaseSensitiveObjectDefinition /force


Please somebody helps. Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 937
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Saurin,

thank you for your forum post.

I suspect you mean doesn't produce any comparison results or create a scripts folder, am I correct?

Please try adding the include switches to your syntax, based upon your command:

Code:

"d:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Compare 10\SQLCompare.exe" /server1:tcp:ServerName /database1:Database1 /Include:Identical /Include:Missing /Include:Additional /makescripts:d:\Temp\Database1 /options:CaseSensitiveObjectDefinition /force


Further information on the available switches in the command line can be found in this HELP article.

Otherwise, please reply regarding the difference you have found between V8 and V10 of the SQL Compare Command Line.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Saurin



Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:04 pm    Post subject: Sql Compare 10 doesn't produce any errors Reply with quote

Hi Eddie,

It does produce comparing results or create scripts folder when database is available. Generally it shows OK response back from command line if scripts generated correctly.

What if there is something going on at database side like database is not available because of restoring or something like network hiccup or database issue. SqlCompare should produce Error with cause.

Sql compare 8 used to produce errors if it fails, but Sql compare 10 doesn't produce any errors even though database is not available.
What I am expecting here is some kind of Errors as and when Sql scripts doesn't generate script folder. What I have noticed, it doesn't generate scripts folders and responded as OK instead of Error from command line.

some of the errors shown below with Sql Compare 8

Unexpected error: Specified cast is not valid.

Error: Error occurred connecting to database:

Unexpected error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
System.NullReferenceException
at o.u()
at o.a(n )
at RedGate.SQLCompare.Engine.Database.Register(ConnectionProperties connectionProperties, Options options)
at o.a(LiveDatabaseSource )
at o.a(Int32 )
at o.a(String )
at RedGate.SQLCompare.CommandLine.CommandProcessor.b()
at RedGate.SQLCompare.CommandLine.CommandProcessor.Run()
at RedGate.SQLCompare.CommandLine.Startup.a(String[] )



I hope, It explains.

Thanks,
Saurin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saurin



Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody can help on this?

Thanks much in advance.

-Saurin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 937
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Saurin,

Thank you for your reply. Sadly I am unable to replicate your fault symptoms.

Using SQL Compare V10.4.8.87, I ran command line code to create a snapshot of a test database called GenerationX.

To ensure that my syntax is OK, I ran my code which successfully created a snapshot file.

To simulate failure, I took the test database off-line and repeated the command line code which generated an error indicating a log-in failure:
Quote:

SQL Compare Command Line V10.4.8.87
==============================================================================
Copyright © Red Gate Software Ltd 1999-2013

Unexpected error: Cannot open database "GenerationX" requested by the login. The

login failed. Login failed for user 'domain\user'.
Cannot open database "GenerationX" requested by the login. The login failed.
Login failed for user 'domain\user'.
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnection.OnError(SqlException exception
, Boolean breakConnection)
at System.Data.SqlClient.TdsParser.ThrowExceptionAndWarning(TdsParserStateObj
ect stateObj)
at System.Data.SqlClient.TdsParser.Run(RunBehavior runBehavior, SqlCommand cm
dHandler, SqlDataReader dataStream, BulkCopySimpleResultSet bulkCopyHandler, Tds
ParserStateObject stateObj)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds.CompleteLogin(Boolean enlis
tOK)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds.AttemptOneLogin(ServerInfo
serverInfo, String newPassword, Boolean ignoreSniOpenTimeout, Int64 timerExpire,
SqlConnection owningObject)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds.LoginNoFailover(String host
, String newPassword, Boolean redirectedUserInstance, SqlConnection owningObject
, SqlConnectionString connectionOptions, Int64 timerStart)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds.OpenLoginEnlist(SqlConnecti
on owningObject, SqlConnectionString connectionOptions, String newPassword, Bool
ean redirectedUserInstance)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds..ctor(DbConnectionPoolIdent
ity identity, SqlConnectionString connectionOptions, Object providerInfo, String
newPassword, SqlConnection owningObject, Boolean redirectedUserInstance)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnectionFactory.CreateConnection(DbConnectionOp
tions options, Object poolGroupProviderInfo, DbConnectionPool pool, DbConnection
owningConnection)
at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.CreateNonPooledConnection(DbC
onnection owningConnection, DbConnectionPoolGroup poolGroup)
at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.GetConnection(DbConnection ow
ningConnection)
at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionClosed.OpenConnection(DbConnection ou
terConnection, DbConnectionFactory connectionFactory)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection.Open()
at #namb.#n9G.#W8G(DataSource #ovUb, #en #5OPb, Boolean #q9rc)
at #i9G.#n9G.#W8G(DataSource #ovUb, #en #5OPb, Boolean #q9rc)
at #i9G.#n9G.#1tD(String #p9rc, DataSource #ovUb, #en #5OPb, Boolean #q9rc)
at RedGate.SQLCompare.CommandLine.CommandProcessor.#lMPb()
at RedGate.SQLCompare.CommandLine.CommandProcessor.#kcmb()
at RedGate.SQLToolsCommandLine.CommandProcessor.#OUb()
at #i9G.#OsPb.#6sc(String[] #ead)

Next created a batch file and added the /LogLevel:Verbose switch which creates a log file. The log file generated contains the above information.

Please try adding /LogLevel switch to your syntax so it becomes:
Code:

"d:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Compare 10\SQLCompare.exe" /server1:tcp:ServerName /database1:Database1 /Include:Identical /Include:Missing /Include:Additional /makescripts:d:\Temp\Database1 /options:CaseSensitiveObjectDefinition /force  /LogLevel:Verbose


Do you now see error messages and exit codes?

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group