Red Gate forums :: View topic - S/A requires more explicit dependencies than MSBuild does?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 6
SmartAssembly 6 forum

S/A requires more explicit dependencies than MSBuild does?

Search in SmartAssembly 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
eric-914



Joined: 30 Nov 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:56 pm    Post subject: S/A requires more explicit dependencies than MSBuild does? Reply with quote

I have a .dll named "MyProject", which uses another .dll I made named "MyLibrary". "MyLibrary" has a reference to: Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.ExceptionHandling

I've got a reference in "MyProject" to "MyLibrary", and Visual Studio/MSBuild can compile "MyProject" just fine.

S/A, however, cannot:

SmartAssembly v6.8.0.121
Copyright c Red Gate Software 2005-2013
Loading project MyProject.saproj
Loading...

ERROR: Cannot find dependency 'Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.ExceptionHandling, Version=5.0.505.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35', which is required for assembly:
MyLibrary, Version=1.6.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=...
MyProject, Version=1.6.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=...

Ensure that this dependency is in the main assembly folder, or in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC).


Now this is irritating because my S/A project is only obfuscating "MyProject".dll. It's not even trying to merge/embed "MyLibrary".dll, let alone even lower dependencies.


Can this get fixed?

My current work around plan is to script a copy of the Microsoft....dll to the "MyProject".dll folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eric-914



Joined: 30 Nov 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, come on!

Can S/A at least list out all the dependencies it claims it needs at one time?

ERROR: Cannot find dependency 'Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common, Version=5.0.505.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35', which is required for assembly:

S/A is only telling me one supposedly required dependency at a time.

I'm trying to do this through TeamCity. It takes awhile for me to find out what the next "missing dependency" is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 586

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not create and build the project in the GUI- you get far more control over what is happening especially when it comes to dependencies- some of which you get the option to (safely) ignore. The others you can browse to and this location information will be saved in the project which will mean you can run it automatically for the next time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eric-914



Joined: 30 Nov 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:08 pm    Post subject: GUI/command line compiling Reply with quote

Thanks, but things compile just fine in the GUI. And they compile just fine from the command line.

Now, true, the next-level dependencies will be required to RUN the code, but shouldn't be necessary to COMPILE the code.

It's S/A that's demanding ALL dependencies required to RUN be in the build folder, not just those that are required to COMPILE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group