Red Gate forums :: View topic - sco.exe Missing schemas from DataSource
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Schema Compare for Oracle
Schema Compare for Oracle forum

sco.exe Missing schemas from DataSource

Search in Schema Compare for Oracle forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
llerrac



Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 10:21 am    Post subject: sco.exe Missing schemas from DataSource Reply with quote

I trialing out redgate for Oracle.
I am testing the TC connection and running the comparisons by hand.

from redgate TC guide, i wish to run command line compare with what I have in SVN
So guide reads>>
PreDeployReport (compares the contents of svn with a live database and generates a report of the differences). Command Line Executable:

C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3\SCO.exe
Parameters:

/source C:\DatabaseCI{WIDGET} /target User/Pass@host{WIDGET} /includeidentical /report:"PreDeploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive

<<
I then used these commands lines:
--direct file path to repo:
C:\Users\acarre>"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3\"SCO.exe /source C:\Versioning\SVN4 /target lees/read@TOO3 /includeidentical /report:"Pre
Deploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive
Schema Compare for Oracle: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:13:11
Automation License: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:08:15
Error: Missing schemas from DataSource string C:\Versioning\SVN4, startOfSchemas = -1, endOfSchemas = -1


--the svn repo(where redgate version control placed it):
C:\Users\acarre>"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3"\SCO.exe /source file:///C:/versioning/svn4/ /target lees/read@TOO3 /includeidentical /re
port:"PreDeploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive
Schema Compare for Oracle: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:13:11
Automation License: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:08:15
Error: Missing schemas from DataSource string file:///C:/versioning/svn4/, startOfSchemas = -1, endOfSchemas = -1

--a check out of the svn repo(as checked out by tortoise svn):
C:\Users\acarre>"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3\"SCO.exe /source C:\Checkouts\svn4\ /target lees/read@TOO3 /includeidentical /report:"PreDeploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive
Schema Compare for Oracle: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:13:11
Automation License: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:08:15
Error: Missing schemas from DataSource string C:\Checkouts\svn4\, startOfSchemas = -1, endOfSchemas = -1

--
Any ideas? what have i missed

I have searched the forum, read the docs, but the CLI parameter /source seems not to be documented.


Thanks

Alex

fyi
the source control : SchemaInformation.xml has :
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16" standalone="yes"?>
<!--
SourceControlForOracle
Source Control for Oracle
Version:1.0.0.759-->
<SchemaInformation version="1" type="SchemaInformation">
<!--This is used instead of the folder name as some characters cannot be used when naming a folder-->
<Name>TOPLINE</Name>
</SchemaInformation>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 938
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thank your for your forum post.

I agree that the help information for the command line needs some improvement and it is on my list of things to look at.

I suspect that you may need to add the schema name in this format:
Code:

{schema_name}


So using your example your syntax may look like this, obviously replace schema_name with the name of your actual schema:
Code:

C:\Users\acarre>"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3\"SCO.exe /source C:\Versioning\SVN4{schema_name} /target lees/read@TOO3{schema_name} /includeidentical /report:"Pre
Deploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive


Another alternative if you have already configured your comparison through the GUI and saved the project, is to use the saved project file in the command line syntax. An example syntax is as follows:
Code:

C:\Users\acarre>"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3"\SCO.exe /Project:"C:\Schema Compare for Oracle\Projects\WidgetDatabases.ocp" /re
port:"PreDeploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive

--where :"C:\Schema Compare for Oracle\Projects\WidgetDatabases.ocp" is the path to the saved project file


I hope the above helps.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
llerrac



Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Thanks for the reply
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llerrac



Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Out of interest.
where the above example gives {schema} for the TNS log in, use a standard tns logline commmand line and that seems to connect.
eg user/password@sid:port/schema

As for the SVN schema, using "{schema}" fails as does "/schema" , "\schema" , "schema"
eg
C:\Versioning\SVN4\testschema
error:
Schema Compare for Oracle: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:13:11
Automation License: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:08:15
Error: Missing schemas from DataSource string C:\Versioning\SVN4:testschema,
startOfSchemas = -1, endOfSchemas = -1


I may be being daft.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llerrac



Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also relating to the example above

The ocp driven command should look like this:

"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\Schema Compare for Oracle 3"\SCO.exe /project "C:\Temp\redgate\TC1\db1 to db2.ocp" /report:"PreDeploy.html" /reporttype:Interactive


Though in my case I get:

Automation License: in trial, expires 22-8-2013 6:08:15
Checking that DataSources can be parsed
Reading dependency information
Error: Can not obtain Oracle client information from registry. Make sure that
Oracle Client Software is installed, or use Direct mode of connecting to server.

- while I know my registry setting is correct.. i have had to check it enough times.
I do have a reg setting for XE and one oracle 11g though. I suspect the above is due to the XE entry.

*it works using the UI*

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group