Red Gate forums :: View topic - Filter Does Not Apply When Using SSMS Plugin
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Deployment Manager
Deployment Manager forum

Filter Does Not Apply When Using SSMS Plugin

Search in Deployment Manager forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
bigbadvd37



Joined: 11 Jul 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:11 pm    Post subject: Filter Does Not Apply When Using SSMS Plugin Reply with quote

My filter does not apply to the package generated from the SSMS plugin. My source control and sql compare use the file.

How do I get the plugin to use it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chirayu



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SSMS plugin does not put filter files in the database packages at the moment. Filter rules can still be applied during database deployment to skip/include database objects for comparison. There are two ways to do this:
- If you are using sqlCI to generate database packages, you can put a filter file by the name 'Filter.scpf' in the top level Scripts/ folder before using sqlCI to generate the package. These filter rules will then be applied when you deploy this package with Deployment Manager.
- If you don't use sqlCI.exe, There is another way of doing this. You can extract the database using Nuget Package explorer and manually edit it. You need to drop 'Filter.scpf' in all folders which contain state in their name, for e.g. dbState, dbVersionUpgradeState etc. Once you're done editing it, save it and deploy!
_________________
Chirayu Shishodiya
Software Engineer - Deployment Manager
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbadvd37



Joined: 11 Jul 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. That would be great if the plugin did use the filter in the future.

sqlCi is an additional license correct? I already have the developer bundle on my PC. I would only be running it from my pc.

My issue is that the users are getting packaged up and I do not want that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chirayu



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
sqlCi is an additional license correct?

Yes, sqlCI is an additional license. The tools in SQL Developer Bundle are licensed per-user, to be installed on an individual's PC or laptop for their own use. The automation of the tools as part of a server installation is not covered by SQL Developer Bundle's per-user licensing.

sqlCI comes with SQL Automation Pack. It basically allows you to use Red Gate tools from the command line. It is licensed per build agent.
_________________
Chirayu Shishodiya
Software Engineer - Deployment Manager
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group