Red Gate forums :: View topic - Run out of diskspace in SQL Data compare SDK
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Comparison SDK 10
SQL Comparison SDK 10 forum

Run out of diskspace in SQL Data compare SDK

Search in SQL Comparison SDK 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Philn



Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 1:02 am    Post subject: Run out of diskspace in SQL Data compare SDK Reply with quote

Hi,
Is there an option to set in the SQL Data Compare API to place the temp files into a different path instead of the C:\ drive?
I am comparing a large databases with many tables and the default temp files are in C drive which I don't have much empty space.
Thanks
_________________
philn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6588

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Phil,
It's not a method explicitly in the API but what you can do is set the "RGTEMP" environment variable value to the name of a folder on a different drive with lots of free disk space. In .NET, you can use the System.Environment object and add the RGTEMP variable to your own process. That should do the trick!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philn



Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Brian,
thanks for replying. I tried your suggestion, but it seems doesn't do anything - Not sure what I am missing.
I put Env variable (RGTEMP) in both user variable and System Variable and the api still doesn't recognize it.
_________________
philn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6588

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're setting it in code you probably want to set it in the process, otherwise you have to restart the process to get the variable read in, which won't do you much good.
Code:
Environment.SetEnvironmentVariable("RGTEMP", "d:\\temp", EnvironmentVariableTarget.Process);
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philn



Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it!, I restarted my machine, Doh!, it's work now.
Thanks Brian.
_________________
philn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group