Red Gate forums :: View topic - Keeps showing uncommited changes even if there are none
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 3
SQL Source Control 3 forum

Keeps showing uncommited changes even if there are none

Search in SQL Source Control 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:14 pm    Post subject: Keeps showing uncommited changes even if there are none Reply with quote

Using TFS and the latest version, I keep getting the icon that there are changes to commit. When I open the tab to check, there are no changes to commit and the icon goes back to normal. A few seconds later it changes back and says there are changes to commit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds like a bug.

Could you send me the DDL for the object that keeps popping up on the commit tab? It could be some syntax were not handling correctly.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It keeps changing objects. If I open the SQL Source Control tab and it syncs up, there are no differences and the icons change to normal, almost immediately the icon changes to changed objects, and if I expand the tables folder or Stored procedures it will be a different one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the shared model? Could other users linked to the same database be committing the changes?
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using the shared, but there are no other changes going on. When I Click on the Commit Changes Tab and it sync's up, the icons change in the Object Explorer to show nothing is different. Then when you click on something else, the change icon appears again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I think this needs investigating. Leave it with me.

I take it you're on the latest version (3.1.0.4583)
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes I am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was working fine before I upgraded to the new version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay.

When using the shared model in the latest version (3.1) we now record the changes in a table called 'RG_AllObjects' in tempdb. If this table is removed or couldn't be created for whatever reason, then it might cause strange behaviour with the blue indicators.

Could you check if you have this table and if it's populated with data?
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The table is there and is populated with 7183 rows of data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
needbrew99



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:41 pm    Post subject: Any update on this issue. Reply with quote

This is really getting to be a pain. Every DB shows as having changes to commit, even though nothing has changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to be an issue with the query we use to check for changes. It seems to be picking up on all sorts of system objects that it should really filter out.

We have had this and a few other problems with the 3.1 release, so we've actually now pulled it from the website until we fix these issues with the shared model.

I would recommend downgrading to version 3.0 for the time being:
http://downloads.red-gate.com/checkforupdates/SQLSourceControl/SQLSourceControl_3.0.13.4214.exe

Sorry for the inconvenience.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
achamp



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also getting random blue dots on databases where there are no changes to commit and where I know the database hasn't been changed behind the scenes.

I am running version 3.1.0.4829 so do I still need to downgrade to version 3.0.13.4214.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikehalford



Joined: 22 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also getting the same issue. I thought you had to be running at least v3.1 to use TFS service.

By downgrading does that mean we cannot use Team Foundation Server Service?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 509
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any update on this issue, please...?

I'll live with the fake-blue-dots as I'm the only DB developer, but it is rather confusing to see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group