Red Gate forums :: View topic - Integrating Data Generator 2.0 and TFS
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 2
SQL Data Generator 2 forum

Integrating Data Generator 2.0 and TFS

Search in SQL Data Generator 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
JimboJet



Joined: 01 Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:03 pm    Post subject: Integrating Data Generator 2.0 and TFS Reply with quote

Hi All,

What's the best way to source control the generation plans I create using Data Generator 2.0?

We're currently using Team Foundation Server and I'd ideally like to be able to check my generation plans into TFS and then when checking out the test database, automatically run the generation plan so that a fresh checkout includes test data.

Also it would be nice if the plan could be updated based on any schema changes made.

Is this possible at all?

Cheers,

Jim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-rator



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,


I'm using SDG in conjunction with TFS, but not with an ideal way...

My first purpose was to generate the data 'automatically' by means of a script (powershell or batch).
BUT there is no way to invoke a command line with a target (DB, server) as a parameter ; a thread is here :
http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/viewtopic.php?t=14853&highlight=command+line

You can vote +1 for this feature request...

Then, I proceed as the following :
- create a DB with the last updates from TFS DB scripts ;
- generate data with SDG and other scripts
- this is my 'template' DB

In a further step, I duplicate this DB by means of backup/restore script.
this can be done through SQL scheduled jobs and you can target several DBs (for testing, integrating, etc.).

hope this helps.
regards.

JL.
_________________
using SQL data Generator 2.0
----
dedicated CRM Software build with dotNet WPF / SQLServer 2008R2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimboJet



Joined: 01 Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, England

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks JL..

I've only just managed to get SDG to put the correct data in to my schema for my cube to process (my fault, not SDG's).. So once that's done I'll have a go using the command line and go from there. Luckily we don't need to load in data from .csv files or anything, so as long as everyone has access to one particular server there shouldn't be too much of an issue..

The only problem will be making the path generic enough so that any developer can run the script.

Thanks again.

Jim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group