Red Gate forums :: View topic - Move Tests Between Servers
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Test
SQL Test forum

Move Tests Between Servers

Search in SQL Test forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
beyond



Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 9:25 am    Post subject: Move Tests Between Servers Reply with quote

How do I move my tests between servers? I'm looking for a way to import/export into SQL Test.

We have our own source control software and I want to be able to save the tests here.

Thanks,
Mat
_________________
You always have a choice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6670

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably more of a tSQLt question, so it would be better to ask at the tSQLt forum. It does look like you can do it, though, by installing SQL Test on the new server (if you are going to a new server), add the database to SQL Test, and copy the schema and data to the new database.

The tests you write are in a schema identified by the class name you give to SQL Test and the list of tests and results are stored in the tables and views inside the tSQLt schema for the database.

I'd check with the tSQLt people before doing anything rash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bradwist



Joined: 18 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:20 pm    Post subject: Setting standard SQLCop tests by Default Reply with quote

This is somewhat related to this question. When I add SQLCop static analysis tests to a database, it creates several tests by default. But there are many more SQLCop tests that exist.

How do I create and manage the set of default tests I want installed everytime I add the tests to a database? I would like to be able to package these as part of a standard practice and provide to each of my developers to run as a set of tests.

So the question is...

where are these tests initially defined and how can I add more to this default set?

And if I choose to create additional sets, perhaps under a different grouping, that are customized to our organization, how do I package them for distribution?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group