Red Gate forums :: View topic - command line generates different output for same project
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Schema Compare for Oracle
Schema Compare for Oracle forum

command line generates different output for same project

Search in Schema Compare for Oracle forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
sapp



Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:33 pm    Post subject: command line generates different output for same project Reply with quote

When generating a difference for 2 schemas - either snapshot to snapshot or snapshot to database - I am getting different results between the GUI interface and the command line.

There are no error reported in either interface.

Here the output from the command line when ran -
Schema Compare for Oracle Command Line V1.5.0.126
==============================================================================
Copyright c 2009 - 2010 Red Gate Software Ltd

Reading dependency information
Registering database one
Registering database two
Comparing databases
Generating report
Finished

Command used :
sco /pr:"C:\Users\Documents\Schema Compare for Oracle\Projects\MODEL.ocp" /r:"C:\TEMP\snapshot.html" /rt:Interactive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sapp



Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:43 pm    Post subject: continuing the description Reply with quote

The issue is that everything comes up as IDENTICAL vs via the GUI with 762 different , 67 create and 463 drop.

I am running on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit SP 1. When try pointing the command line to 32 bit libraries , it fails with :
Schema Compare for Oracle Command Line V1.5.0.126
==============================================================================
Copyright c 2009 - 2010 Red Gate Software Ltd

Reading dependency information
Error: ORA-12557: TNS:protocol adapter not loadable
Error: Comparison failed
Finished

The TNSEntries between the Oracle Homes are identical. Have tried with TNS_ADMIN set as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom Harris



Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

it turned out that you need to include the additional switch to the command line.

/reportAllObjectsWithDifferences (Alias: /rad)
Includes all objects with differences in the reports, rather than all
selected objects.

Once this was added the reports worked correctly.

-Tom

Tom Harris, Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group