Red Gate forums :: View topic - profiling .net c# code called via managed c++
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 5
ANTS Performance Profiler 5 forum

profiling .net c# code called via managed c++

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 5 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
conrad



Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Location: norway

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:58 am    Post subject: profiling .net c# code called via managed c++ Reply with quote

We have a c++ application calling c# .net code via a unmanaged/managed "firewall" layer. I.o.w, the app is still build without /clr but uses a dedicated project with /clr where wrappers live, statically linked. I have tried the Ants profiler for the first time. It launched my .exe file ok, but all I get in the profiler are timings of managed and unmanaged context switches. Can I get it to profile the .net assemblies beeing called?
The Ants profiler is obviously affecting the application as the time it takes for the .net code to initialize has greatly increased so I'd say some "patching" has occured.
Regards,
conrad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I just check if you have selected "Wall Clock" timings or "CPU timings" (default). There's a drop down list on the results page (on the right). When profiling using "Wall Clock" timings you usually see transitions dominating. Have you been using the interactive timeline too? Using this, you can select data from only the code path you are really interested in- this helps to filter out "noise" often.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
conrad



Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Location: norway

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CPU/Wall Clock did not make any difference, but "Top-down (any method) did!. The Display defaults to Top-down (methods with source). Our solution does not contain the actual .net source although I am able to trace into it the source from the devstudio debugger.
So, I suppose the next questions is: is there a way to tell Ants where to look for the .net c# source?

Thanks for the prompt reply, you got me going!
Conrad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group