Red Gate forums :: View topic - During upgrade package feed url reverts to server name
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Deployment Manager
Deployment Manager forum

During upgrade package feed url reverts to server name

Search in Deployment Manager forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
jakenuts



Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:54 pm    Post subject: During upgrade package feed url reverts to server name Reply with quote

I know this happens when I upgrade, its possible it happens more often as I seem to correct it a lot (when a deployment fails it's usually the reason). I set my package feed to http://deploy.mydomain.com:90/nuget so that I can reach it from my CI server. Often is returns to http://machinename:90/nuget and becomes inaccessible to external callers (as the machine name doesn't resolve to a public IP).

Thanks so much!

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1119
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post.

Is this the feed built in to DM that you're referring to? If so, then I think we do indeed default it to the local machine name. Are you editing the existing reference to it? What you could try doing is adding a second feed that uses the URL you need to work with, and that /should/ get left alone during upgrades?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakenuts



Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, its the built in one. I'll definitely try the secondary feed. I wonder how many users have their CI server, deployment server and deployment agents running within the same "network domain" (so that the machine name is resolvable). I've got the deployment and agent running on the production server to keep deployments quick, but since the build server is located elsewhere so as a default the machine name doesn't help when I publish. I realize of course that the internal nuget server is not recommended so perhaps I'll try to work out something else.

Thanks again!

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1119
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've definitely heard of this sort of thing now and then, but I think most folks have everything within the same network, so name resolution doesn't break.

Post back if you're still having trouble!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group