Red Gate forums :: View topic - Windows Authentication
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 8
ANTS Performance Profiler 8 forum

Windows Authentication

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 8 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
markgendein



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:21 pm    Post subject: Windows Authentication Reply with quote

I am having a problem with ANTS where I am not able to profile a web site that uses Windows authentication.

When I profile this site (at localhost), the page simply never comes back. When I click Stop to stop profiling, the browser opens the Windows Security dialog for username and password.

When ANTS is not running, the site works fine.
The problem only happens when profiling in Sample mode. All the other modes work as expected.

localhost is listed in the trusted sites list.
When ANTS is not running or when it is running in some mode other than sample, the authentication happens automatically. No Windows Security dialog is displayed.

Please let me know how I may troubleshoot this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a very unusual case as sampling mode has the least effect on any process.

Is this process a .Net 4 process? You can get the same level of detail if you use the 'Attach to a .Net 4 process' option. This has many advantages over sampling mode so I would recommend it right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markgendein



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right. Attach to process not only works but it also avoids restarting IIS. That means that I don't have to wait for the compilation step and I don't have to start the trace at the beginning of the session. I can trace just the page I am interested in.

I still don't know why it stopped working but I suppose I won't worry too much about that.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group