Red Gate forums :: View topic - "Common Language Runtime detected an invalid program." error
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 7
ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum

"Common Language Runtime detected an invalid program." error

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I've missed the previous updates on this, but I'll grab the repro now and test it out, thanks guys!

*EDIT*

- I do get the crash; but I don't have the relevant KB installed (probably as I'm on Windows Cool but either way we can hopefully work out the trigger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The full list of KB's relating to the patches are here - this may explain why some users don't have the one originally listed?

pdorey- I notice in that same page a potential workaround for the original vulnerability the KB resolves when the problem relates to web-applications. May be worth you checking over that to see if it helps? Obviously it won't make any difference with the winforms version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've logged an internal bug ref. PP-3010 relating to this issue. Confirmed that removing the 3 updates listed for Windows 8 on the KB page stops the crash occurring.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sf



Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi James,

Just wondering whether you made some progress during those last 2 weeks.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The team have taken a look at it, and it's currently slated to be fixed in 8.1. It's too complex to be resolved in the initial release of 8.0 (due in the next couple of weeks) as that hit code-freeze recently for final bug-checking and documentation etc.
After 8.0 there'll be an 8.1 to tackle anything that comes up from wider usage of the initial release, and this issue is to be looked at then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sf



Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello James,

Thank you for the update. Of course I think you understand that this does not exactly solve my issue Wink

What are the short and long term solutions that could work for me?

1) Short term: should I ask my team to remove all updates back to a working state and refuse any new until 8.1 is out?
Or do you have a workaround? Such as a way to rewrite code, a patch or something?

2) Long term: I think I understand that my only option will be to purchase licenses for 8.1, am I right? Or are you planning to update previous versions too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say in the interim you'd need to remove the updates. I spent a while trying to work out if you could change something specific in your code to get around it but no luck (or just don't use line-level timing of course, it was only that mode that seemed to trigger it).

It's very unlikely that any change to the profiler would be made in previous versions, so you'd need to update to version 8, yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sf



Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi James,

I noticed you released ANTS 8.0, congratulation!

Could you let me know the road-map for 8.1? I would like to know when you plan to release it and whether it will contain a fix for our issue.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Currently this issue is indeed slated to be fixed in 8.1 - I don't have a precise lead time on 8.1 but it's in the order of a few weeks rather than a few months.
Unless anything disasterous happens, I'd hope this is indeed fixed soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JBrown16



Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any update on the timeline for fixing this? I desperately need line-level timings (and it's not an option for me to remove Windows updates). Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid we're still investigating precisely how to fix this in the tool - the IL that gets rewritten apparently doesn't look in any way "wrong" but investigations are ongoing.

A little more information was discovered today though - it seems the problem can be triggered by something as simple as an empty try/catch block in the constructor for a generic. Other causes are using, lock or foreach statements.

Another workaround asides from turning off line-level may be to move the constructor code into it's own method, and call this from within the constructor. It seems in some scenarios that is enough to stop the problem happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sf



Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

I am sorry to insist, but: when do you plan to release something that fixes this bug?

Thank you in advance.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you updated to the latest build via Help > Check for Updates? The specific scenario we reproduced should be fixed in the latest version.

If you're still seeing it happen then you're probably running into something slightly different and we'd need a code-sample to investigate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sf



Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi James,

Thank you, your latest build seems to be robust against this issue, this is good!

Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1112
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear that's helping!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group