Red Gate forums :: View topic - Failed to get configuration from server
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup 7
SQL Backup 7 forum

Failed to get configuration from server

Search in SQL Backup 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:23 pm    Post subject: Failed to get configuration from server Reply with quote

My backups ran successfully for months but now are failing with this error. From the log:

SQL Backup log file 7.0.0.597

-SQL "BACKUP LOG [TTC] TO DISK = '\\America\GPSQLBackup\PacioliBackups\TTC\Tlog\<TYPE>_<DATABASE>_<DATETIME YYYYmmddhhnnss>.sqb' WITH ERASEFILES = 1, PASSWORD = 'XXXXXXXXXX', DISKRETRYINTERVAL = 30, DISKRETRYCOUNT = 10, COPYTO = '\\America\GPSQLBackup\PacioliBackups\TTC\LogCopy', KEYSIZE = 256, THREADCOUNT = 7 "

----------------------------- ERRORS AND WARNINGS -----------------------------


7/11/2012 3:00:00 AM: Backing up TTC (transaction log) to:
7/11/2012 3:00:00 AM: \\America\GPSQLBackup\PacioliBackups\TTC\Tlog\LOG_TTC_20120711030000.sqb

7/11/2012 3:00:01 AM: BACKUP LOG [TTC] TO VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F59', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5901', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5902', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5903', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5904', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5905', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A67A25FA-5C24-45A8-A7D8-07BCF0A54F5906' WITH BUFFERCOUNT = 28, BLOCKSIZE = 65536, MAXTRANSFERSIZE = 1048576, NAME = N'Database (TTC), 7/11/2012 3:00:00 AM', DESCRIPTION = N'Backup on 7/11/2012 3:00:00 AM Server: PACIOLI Database: TTC', FORMAT

7/11/2012 3:00:01 AM: VDI error 1010: Failed to get configuration from server. Check that the SQL Server instance is running, and that you have the SQL Server Systems Administrator server role. Error code: (-2147024888: )


SQL server IS running -- this is my production server and I would know if it were down!! I do have Admin server role. So what's up??
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisAVWood



Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 308
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Margaret,

Look here for answers http://www.red-gate.com/SupportCenter/Content/knowledgebase/SQL_Backup/KB200710000177

HTH

Chris
_________________
English DBA living in CANADA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:08 pm    Post subject: help articles Reply with quote

I can't even get my GUID to connect to the database, so can't configure these things as suggested in the one article. The other article says to check memory on the server -- there is plenty of available memory.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petey



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 2277

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please check the Windows Event log to see if there were any entries raised by the SQLVDI component at around the time of the error (7/11/2012 3:00:00 AM)?

Thank you.
_________________
Peter Yeoh
SQL Backup Consultant Developer
Associate, Yohz Software
Beyond compression - SQL Backup goodies under the hood, updated for version 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:27 pm    Post subject: Windows error log Reply with quote

The Windows error log has no errors in it at all.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:42 pm    Post subject: Windows error log Reply with quote

Looking on my machine (where I'm running the GUID from) I have the following error:

ngWrapper.LogManager
#6:Failed to load assembly Microsoft.SqlServer.SqlEnum
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisAVWood



Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 308
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Margaret,

You didn't mention the O/S or SQL version. This might help understand things a little better.

Chris
_________________
English DBA living in CANADA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: os/sql version Reply with quote

The SQL box is running Windows Server 2003 and SQL 2008 R2 SP2. My personal computer is running Windows 7 Professional.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisAVWood



Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 308
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you mean SQL2008R2 SP2 CTP I don't believe that version is freely available yet.

Is this 32 or 64 bit and how much memory does the server have and are you giving to SQL?

Chris
_________________
English DBA living in CANADA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:58 pm    Post subject: server configuration Reply with quote

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 (SP1) - 10.50.2500.0 (X64) Jun 17 2011 00:54:03 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Standard Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 5.2 <X64> (Build 3790: Service Pack 2)
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:01 pm    Post subject: memory Reply with quote

SLQ server is allocated 28GB and there is 32 GB of RAM on the server.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisAVWood



Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 308
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There doesn't appear to be any fixes in the CU's raised after SP1 that talk about memory.

Red Gate SQLBackup uses the vas space in SQL which defaults to 256Mb in SQL2008R2. If this was changed you would see a line like this -g 400 in the SQL errorlog after lines like -l D:\DBMS\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\DATA\mastlog.ldf to indicate where the master db log is after the last SQL startup.

I am not currently using SQLBackup on any SQL2008R2 servers but saw this error many times in SQL2005 running on W2K3R2 SP2.

A -g can be added to the startup of SQL but it would need to be stopped and restarted for it to apply.

Chris
_________________
English DBA living in CANADA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I stopped and restarted the SQL Backup Agent and that seems to have solved the problem for now. no idea why it stopped working which I would like to know.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisAVWood



Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 308
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use CLR routines and do you see any AppDomain 6 (AAA_BBB.dbo[runtime].5) is marked for unload due to memory pressure messages in the errorlog?

if you do then your problem could well be lack of contiguous memory in the vas.

Chris
_________________
English DBA living in CANADA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyespi20



Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Greenville, SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:56 pm    Post subject: CLR routines Reply with quote

No we don't use any CLR routines.
_________________
Margaret Norkett
Database Administrator
Commercial Foodservice Repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group