Red Gate forums :: View topic - Profiler add a second mscorlib assembly
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 8
ANTS Performance Profiler 8 forum

Profiler add a second mscorlib assembly

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 8 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
philippe.martens



Joined: 18 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:15 am    Post subject: Profiler add a second mscorlib assembly Reply with quote

When recording performance for a program using Linq for NHibernate, the program crashed with a Type initilization error exception (but works normally outside of performance profiler).

After some investigation, it boils down to Remotion Linq executing
var mscorlibReference = Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly().GetReferencedAssemblies().Single (name => name.Name == "mscorlib")

which is quite reasonable.

But running with performance profiler version 8.0, every assembly gets one supplementary referenced assembly, namely mscorlib version 1.0.3300.0, and thus seems to reference 2 mscorlib assemblies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philippe.martens



Joined: 18 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is still present with version 8.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dom.smith



Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Philippe,

Thanks for letting us know. I've added this to our bug tracking system (reference: PP-3428) for investigation.

Dom.
_________________
Dominic Smith,
Project Manager,
Red Gate Software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dom.smith



Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again Philippe,

The developers have looked at this, and we have confirmed this issue.

However, it looks like Re-motion have fixed the bug at their end (https://www.re-motion.org/jira/browse/RM-3832), so upgrading re-linq may help you.

Dom.
_________________
Dominic Smith,
Project Manager,
Red Gate Software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philippe.martens



Joined: 18 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:53 am    Post subject: Upgrading relinq would take me too far Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I don't use Re-Linq directly, I use it from NHibernate (and it is merged in NHibernate assembly).

Upgrading Re-Linq would then require upgrading NHibernate, and the latest versions come with an embedded proxy generator which doesn't support generic methods in generic classes (which I use in my infrastructure classes).

I would then need to endorse support for the Castle based ProxyGenerator from the version I'm currently using...

For now, I've just patched Re-Linq and rebuild it and NHibernate, but only for dev/test purposes.

So I'll wait for your correction of the problem.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group