Red Gate forums :: View topic - New procedures getting generated when not required (cmdline)
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Doc 2
SQL Doc 2 forum

New procedures getting generated when not required (cmdline)

Search in SQL Doc 2 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
CraigOttley



Joined: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Newport Pagnell

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:17 pm    Post subject: New procedures getting generated when not required (cmdline) Reply with quote

Hi!

I like the fact that new tables, views etc get picked up when generating the documentation via command line. How ever some areas of our Documentation are getting generated when we don't need them and it requires manual intervention in the project Sad

Example:
I've got a project to just generate documentation for Tables and Views nothing else. So naturally in the project i've selected Tables and views, any new/altered tables and views get added autmatically which is fine.

What's not good is when a New/Altered Procedure, Function, User etc (Basically anything other than a table or view) is added/altered the Documentation get's generated for those as well. I didn't want those so have to go in the project(s) untick the items i don't want and re-run the process.

Anything you can suggest as i can't change the XML for the sqldoc project?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1115
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I've contacted you directly about this, so keep an eye out for our email.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1115
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, currently the command line doesn't support choosing which object types to include or exclude- the project files appear to maintain a full list of objects, even where you ticked or unticked the top level item in the tree (i.e. "Table", "View" etc.)
So, when a new object is added, it seems to just get included by default.

I guess ideally we'd need an extra command-line option to allow you to define the object types to be used. I have logged a feature request for this; but I can't say when it would be likely to be implemented.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CraigOttley



Joined: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Newport Pagnell

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've come up with a work around for this. I've created a user for SQL Doc and revoked all privileges except for Tables and Views Very Happy . SQL Doc can't generate documentation for what is hasn't got access to.

Simple Example

Code:

USE master
GO
GRANT VIEW ANY DEFINITION TO SQLDoc
GO
REVOKE VIEW ANY DEFINITION FROM SQLDoc
GO
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group