Red Gate forums :: View topic - COM+ application has not loaded the .NET Framework
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Profiler Previous Versions
ANTS Profiler Previous Versions forum

COM+ application has not loaded the .NET Framework

Search in ANTS Profiler Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:44 pm    Post subject: COM+ application has not loaded the .NET Framework Reply with quote

I am trying to profile a Server application COM+ component.
The component "Business.Tier" has been written in C# and all references in this project are also written in C#.
When I take the snapshot I receive the following message dialog:

"The COM+ application Business.Tier has not loaded the .NET Framework. Please check that Business.Tier is a .NET application or one that hosts the Common Language Runtime. Please note that the COM+ application will not be loaded until the client application accesses it."

Please help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

If the COM+ application has been loaded and there is a client using it and it is loading the .net runtime (managed code), then you should see snapshot results. You may want to check the event logs for entries from your application, as it could have crashed. One trick you may find useful is that the ANTS Profiler Service is actually trying to start the COM+ application. If you need to run the application as a specific (domain) user, than you will want to change the logon for the service to this account, otherwise the defaut is to run as LocalSystem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can I see events log?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i saw events log:
this is the description:
Unable to start profiler - exception details System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: The system cannot find the file specified
at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithShellExecuteEx(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
at ᐿ.ᐇ()
at ᐿ.ᐁ()
at ᐃ.ᐄ(IAsyncResult )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Can you please verify that the path to executable (the executable that you have specified as a test harness) is correct? If it's not that, ANTS Profiler must not be able to find dllhost.exe in your system file path.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean the executable used to call the COM+ dll?
In Executable textbox of Client application pane I wrote the complete path D:\testFolder\bin\Debug\ClientApplication.exe

In arguments text box I left it empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Is this a 32-bit or a 64-bit server? The problem must be that ANTS can't start dllhost.exe. This could be because it's not in the folder location that we expect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is a 32 bit server.
In the Windows task manager, appears the dllhost.exe with uppercase: DLLHOST.EXE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Is your copy of dllhost.exe in the %systemroot% folder? In other words, if you open a command prompt, and type cd %systemroot%, then dir dllh*.*, is dllhost.exe in the results?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it is not there. "File not found"
what should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the problem that dllhost is not in the folder, or that the %systemroot% environment variable isn't set?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the dllhost.exe is not in the folder. But in task manager window it appears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6589

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ANTS Profiler is looking in the system folder for it. In other words, it's trying to start %systemroot%\dllhost.exe and not finding it. Where is your copy of dllhost.exe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushi



Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found dllhost.exe in C:\WINNT\system32 folder so I copied it to C:\WINNT\ folder and tried again but now I got the message:

The COM+ application Business.Tier has not loaded the .NET Framework. Please check that Business.Tier is a .NET application or one that hosts the Common Language Runtime. Please note that the COM+ application will not be loaded until the client application accesses it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevegreatrex



Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was there ever a resolution to this issue? I am trying to use ANTS 2.71 under Windows 7 and am getting the same error message. I also am missing the dllhost.exe file in the system root folder, and get no change in behavious by copying it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group