Red Gate forums :: View topic - Questions about the command line interface
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 1
SQL Data Generator 1 forum

Questions about the command line interface

Search in SQL Data Generator 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
KlausE



Joined: 01 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Questions about the command line interface Reply with quote

Hi RedGate team,

I tried to find information about the /argfile switch in the commandline interface. Could you give a short example of what arguments can be set and how the file format looks like?

If I am configuring Application Options in the GUI interface of SQL Data Generator, are they used by the command line application as well?

Thanks
Klaus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi KlausE,

The SQL Data Generator command line is basically just there to enable it to be run from a batch file etc.

All the project specific options can only be set in the SQL Data Generator GUI, these are stored in the project file which can be called from the command line.

It's easier to directly call the project file from the command line rather than calling an argfile which calls the project file.

I hope this helps.
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattkarp



Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:01 pm    Post subject: What is the purpose of the /argfile switch Reply with quote

Matthew,

Are you saying that the /argfile switch can not be used to dynamically pass in parameters or setting to an existing project (.sqlgen file)? I understood this switch as being used for that purpose. For example, I would like to be able to dynamically pass in the bit flag for "Delete data from table before generation" in the Table generation settings or the Min value for the IDs generator in the Column generation settings. Can not the /argfile switch do this? If it cannot do this I need to know as I will need to design another approach.

Thank you,

Matt Karp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group