Red Gate forums :: View topic - suggestion: delimit identifiers
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Refactor 1
SQL Refactor 1 forum

suggestion: delimit identifiers

Search in SQL Refactor 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
jroh



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:35 pm    Post subject: suggestion: delimit identifiers Reply with quote

It would be nice to have a way to delimit existing identifiers, without having to qualify the object name.

Thanks, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linda Hawksworth



Joined: 25 Jun 2007
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have logged your feature request in our tracking system (SR-839). I have put a watch on it so that I am informed if/when the status of it changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jroh



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:46 pm    Post subject: thank you! Reply with quote

thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dslinn@gms.ca



Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By this request, do you mean that you want SQL Refactor to change:

SELECT * FROM Northwind.dbo.Customers

to:

SELECT * FROM [Northwind].[dbo].[Customers]

If so, this is the feature I am also looking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jroh



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: suggestion: delimit identifiers Reply with quote

yes, exactly-- and also the field name also without expanding the db name

so,

SELECT [field1], [field2] FROM [Northwind].[dbo].[Customers]


The issue is inconsistency. Sql server enterprise manager generates the brackets, and sql prompt generates the brackets, but if I'm looking through old code they may not be on there. I have to do every search and replace twice because it may or may not have the brackets on there.

Thanks, James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dslinn@gms.ca



Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the exact feature I came on here to find out if sql refactor could this already and I just couldn't find it. Guess not. I second jroh's request.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to be a popular request. I agree that it's slightly inconsistent that there is a "Always delimit identifiers" option that only works for script generation and not for the Lay Out feature.

I've put this on our internal wish list. Can I ask if anyone uses quoted delimeters or is this just square brackets?

Kind regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software


Last edited by David Atkinson on Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dslinn@gms.ca



Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me, we are trying to delimit all of our database objects (databases, tables, schemas, columns) with square brackets. We don't use quoted delimiters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group