Red Gate forums :: View topic - feature request - filter/alert by process name
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Response 1
SQL Response 1 forum

feature request - filter/alert by process name

Search in SQL Response 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
fatherjack



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 224
Location: Cornwall

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:07 pm    Post subject: feature request - filter/alert by process name Reply with quote

Hi,

I only have the demo version installed currently whilst I persuade the man with the budget to shell out the necessary for our servers but have noticed that the alerts I am getting fall into two broad categories:
1 - "Oh yeah, that always takes that long, etc"
and
2 - "Need to look at that"

those in category 1 are things like backups, replication, etc that have a set Process Name value and can really be ignored. If my merge process has a block then its no catastrophe, especially if its only blocking itself or if a backup job (we use SQL Backup) takes a normal duration the Long running query alert is triggered (SQBCoreService.exe is the process name) and leads to a false alert. I cant filter out the process to avoid this getting in and muddying the waters of the SQL that is attempting data access and is running slowly - a Category 2 alert.

Is there any way to allow for different thresholds for alerts according to parameters other than server and alert? If we could add a new alert that is a copy of the original but has a higher/lower threshold for a particular process please?

cheers

also just found out that if i clear an alert it isnt that particular instance of the alert that is cleared, its the whole list of alerts in view. I just 60 alerts when i only wanted to get shot of the one that was in the details view. Is there any way to view the occurrences in a table/grid for an alert rather than the drop down list box please?

thanks again

PS still havent got the budget sorted yet Sad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlkj



Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Location: Red Gate Software, Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for your feedback. I've logged your feature request to display and configure processes based alerts by process name as issue SSR-1350.

I think this would solve both of your issues and we will consider this for a future version of SQL Response.

Cheers,
--
Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatherjack



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 224
Location: Cornwall

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daniel,

Having spent more time in the application I think these are being grouped together because the Detail column is blank/empty. Maybe just getting the Process Name or something into the Detail if the Detail is otherwise empty would sort it ...?

cheers

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group