Red Gate forums :: View topic - Visual Studio 2500 - Dataset Configuration Wizard error
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager Previous Versions
SQL Packager Previous Versions forum

Visual Studio 2500 - Dataset Configuration Wizard error

Search in SQL Packager Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Roy



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Visual Studio 2500 - Dataset Configuration Wizard error Reply with quote

Hello,

I used Packager to create a package that updates a customer database. I created a backup of the client database in SQL express and restored the client database with a rename. So that I can use it as the develop database. This all works fine and the application created in VS2005 also works fine.

However today I wanted to add a new table to the dataset in VS2005. I start the dataset configuration wizard and all my tables appear twice in the list of tables. Once with the original name and once with the prefix dbo. For example: Customer and dbo.Customer.

The tables with the dbo. prefix are marked with a Red Cross in the checkbox. Hovering over them display the error message: "Element .. in the dataset references an object missing from the database. "

The tables without the dbo. prefix are not marked. When I mark these tables VS2005 indicates that the table will be renamed to Customer1.

The same issue applies to all the views in the database.

Is there a way to solve this problem without having to recreate the entire dataset?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6678

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Roy,

I'm not sure exactly what the problem is -- the Visual Studio dataset information muddies the issue up a bit.

Is the problem that the tables are being created with different owners? This would be the only way you could have two objects in a database with the same name. Truthfully, the other way would be to have a case-sensitive database and have two object names, differing in case.

But you can end up with objects having different ownership if they were originally created with no owner, and inherited implicit ownership from SQL Server. If this is the case, when the table is recreated, the ownership will once again be inherited from whatever user you had connected to the database as. I think that this could be the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roy



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:33 pm    Post subject: Owner problem Reply with quote

Hello,

I think that this was the problem. When I tried to open the database diagram I got a message saying that the database had no owner. After I assigned the SA account as owner, this worked again. I couldn't get the problem solved in VS2005 so I recreated the dataset....

Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roy



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:12 am    Post subject: update Reply with quote

The only way I could solve this problem was to delete the dataconnection in het server explorer, then delete the dataset, remove the connectionstring. Then set up new dataconnection, connectionstring and dataset. I think the problem is within the dataconnection somewhere, but still have no idea where exactly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group