Red Gate forums :: View topic - trouble recording the script
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Load
ANTS Load forum

trouble recording the script

Search in ANTS Load forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
guruzee



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:16 am    Post subject: trouble recording the script Reply with quote

Hi,

I was trying to test my application on localhost using AntsLoad 1.7.5. The examples in the help section work fine. Recording a script for any website over the internet works fine.
but when i record script, type in the address " http://localhost/myapp/search.aspx" it doesn't respond. as in it keeps loading forever.
i followed the instructions in link below
http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/viewtopic.php?t=2359
after making the changes, instead of not responding, it says ie cannot display the pagei am using IE7.
I would really appreciate any help in this regard.
thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6677

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There have been a number of reports of users who cannot record a script against a local website using IE 7, although I have tried this myself and haven't had a problem. I can only assume that there is some sort of security issue. ANTS Load uses a proxy server on port 8000 to capture the HTTP traffic running through the browser session. Maybe setting security to full trust on the local machine and intranet zones will help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6677

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I can say with some certainty that you need to turn off the 'use HTTP/1.1 trough proxy connections'. Without this, I get a 'page could not be displayed' message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6677

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's another update, and this is probably going to be the final word!

I had got the ANTS Load recording proxy to work with IE7 by changing the 'HTTP/1.1 through proxies' setting, but this was not 100% reliable. It seemed to work sometimes, and sometimes not, as did changing the security settings to low.

It seems that Microsoft had hard-coded some restrictions into .NET Framework, so that when this is installed in conjunction with IE7, IE will no longer connect to proxies with an address of localhost. I got this information from the Fiddler website, which uses a similar technology to capture HTTP traffic. Here is a reference to that website:

http://www.fiddlertool.com/Fiddler/help/hookup.asp

The workaround, which also seems to work flawlessly with ANTS Load's script recorder, is to use the local machine name instead of localhost, when recording a script against a website hosted on the local machine. for instance, instead of

http://localhost/antsloadtutorialwebsite/employees.aspx
...use...
http://brian/antsloadtutorialwebsite/employees.aspx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lance11



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I have this problem sometimes with localhost and also with remote servers. I've tried the HTTP1.1 idea, but cannot get ANTS to work at all with some websites.

When the pages try to load, it looks like IE gets some of the page as I can sometimes see the background images, but the window just freezes and doesn't respond to any input, so for example I cannot 'view source' to see exactly where it's stuck.

Any more ideas?

Lance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6677

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lance,

Using Fiddler may help if the blockage is happening in the HTTP layer. It could be that the proxy's reading and/or sending socket is blocked. You could use a tool like TracePlus/Winsock to monitor the connection.

http://www.sstinc.com/winsock.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lance11



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
How can I use Fiddler to read the ANTS requests? I'm thinking I need to set it up as a proxy of a proxy... I've tried a few things and can't get Fiddler to read the requests. Fiddler works outside of ANTS...

Lance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6677

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lance,

When you set up Fiddler, you tell it to use a certain TCP port, I think the default is 8888. What you do then, is set up IE to go through localhost:8888 instead of the default ANTS Load port of 8000. As long as you're telling Fiddler to capture traffic, you should see the trace starting for the session.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lance27



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Brian,
Oh, I thought you meant for me to try to get Fiddler to intercept the requests when ANTS is recording a script!

To recap:
When I browse to the site in IE, it works fine.
When I proxy through Fiddler it works fine.
When I proxy through ANTS (when recording a script) it doesn't work.

So I thought maybe to get Fiddler in between IE and ANTS, so I can see exactly which request is causing such mischief.

Oh, and it's an ASP.NET site. I dunno if that matters - I'm just trying to view the homepage, no user account stuff, no even a postback or anything. Of course, I intend to do more complex stuff,but until I can view the homepage...

It would be nice if ANTS had a Fiddler-like tool built into it, so troubleshooting this stuff was easier...

Thanks,
Lance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group