Red Gate forums :: View topic - IIS Deployment
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Deployment Manager
Deployment Manager forum

IIS Deployment

Search in Deployment Manager forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
paraggadkari



Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:29 pm    Post subject: IIS Deployment Reply with quote

Is it possible to deploy in following manner using RedGateWebSiteName?

IIS (7)
- Sites
- Default Web Site
- {Group name virtual directory}
- Web Application
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post. Assuming you mean something like this:



Then yes - in this case, the variable in Deployment Manager could be set as per the below:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paraggadkari



Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes this is what I mean but instead of creating a new web-site I am trying to add to "Default Web Site".

Here is what I have from the logs:

2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 INFO Updating IIS website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp). You can use the RedGateWebSiteName project variable to override an IIS site name. If you don't specify the variable, the package name is used.
2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 WARN Could not find IIS website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp) on the local machine. You can use the RedGateWebSiteName project variable to override an IIS site name or specify a virtual directory. If you don't specify the variable, the package name is used.
2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 INFO The website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp) has been created on port 8080. You can use the RedGateCreateWebSiteOnPort project variable to specify the port number when creating a new IIS website.

There isn't any new binding created not can I find the virtual directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like it should have created it - we'd probably need to see some screenshots of what's now in IIS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paraggadkari



Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is weird. I can browse to the URL, see the newly created application pool and I can see the applications as part of the pool. However, the application (or vdir) doesn't show up under Default Web Site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try forcing a refresh of the tree in IIS manager? Changes don't appear unless you right click and force it to refresh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paraggadkari



Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

[quote="james.billings"]Did you try forcing a refresh of the tree in IIS manager? Changes don't appear unless you right click and force it to refresh.[/quote]

Yes sir, I did the refresh. I think it has to do something with the Virtual directory. The virtual directory doesn't show up on IIS and my guess is because it is either setting the physical path to null or empty. If I manually add the virtual directory post deployment the applications automagically appear under the v-dir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK - so to confirm, you're trying to get it to create all this from scratch, rather than update an existing vdir/application? If so, that's probably the difference from the test I ran originally. Let me know and I'll do more testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandeep Gupta



Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 54
Location: Jaipur,India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am publish the service on server using Deployment Manager and it is successfully deployed on server, but the path is incorrect, it published service not under Default Web site .



Can u please tell me that how to deployed service under Default Website using Deployement Manager.
_________________
Thanks
Sandeep Gupta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post how all your variables are configured please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandeep Gupta



Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 54
Location: Jaipur,India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thnxs ,... i have done the issue. now all services are come under Default Web site..
_________________
Thanks
Sandeep Gupta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
paraggadkari



Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

[quote="james.billings"]OK - so to confirm, you're trying to get it to create all this from scratch, rather than update an existing vdir/application? If so, that's probably the difference from the test I ran originally. Let me know and I'll do more testing.[/quote]

This is exactly what I am trying to do.

Regards,
PG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so it looks like you can specify the site or a site/vdir, but not then the application name under that - at least for creation.

So if you set the variable as "site/vdir" then we'll create the application as vdir under the default website.
It looks like you can't use all three parts "site/vdir/app"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group