Red Gate forums :: View topic - Command line automation does not sync extended properties
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare 10
SQL Compare 10 forum

Command line automation does not sync extended properties

Search in SQL Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
ZHCS



Joined: 17 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 12:36 pm    Post subject: Command line automation does not sync extended properties Reply with quote

We are using SQLCompare.exe for automated deployment of our databases. We realized that the deployment script created by sqlcompare.exe doesnt not synchronize extended properties of the databases. When i try to create the deployment script from SQL Compare GUI, the resulting script does include part synchronizing the extended properties. The options in GUI and for command line set up in identical way. We are not using Ignore extended properties option. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post.

Based on an initial test here, DB level extended properties should get scripted OK, so I need to check a few things:

- are these extended properties the ones that SQL Source Control adds, or your own ones?
- are you running the command line with the same credentials as when you tried it through the GUI?
- what version of SQL Compare are you on?
- what *exact* command line are you running? Can you post an example? For instance I was able to script the differences in extended properties with pretty much no options:

Code:
sqlcompare.exe /db1:database1 /db2:database2 /sf:d:\sync.sql
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZHCS



Joined: 17 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Many thanks for your response.

- these are the extended properties which SQL Source Control adds
- No, i am running the command line with different credentials. What permissions would i need to be able to synchronize the extended properties?
- we have SQL Compare 10
- /scr1:"%system.teamcity.build.checkoutDir%" /revision1:HEAD /server2:XXXXX /db2:XXXXX /Include:identical /o:Default /Report:XXXXX /ReportType:Simple /ScriptFile:XXXXX /Force /logLevel:Verbose /sync
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DB level extended properties require DB Owner permission, so I'd check that first.

There's a Compare option to ignore the Source Control properties, but this is not set by default and you don't seem to be specifying it as far as I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZHCS



Joined: 17 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi James,

I am sorry for getting back to you so late on this subject but unfortunately we didnt make any progress on this.

I found out that we are running the command line with credentials which have DB owner permissions

I have SQL Compare version 10.2.6.114. One of my collegues has the same version, the same settings and the same permissions but when he creates the scripts he doesnt have also these extended properties scripted!

Another collegue has higher version, the same setting but still dont get the extended properties!

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I wonder if the problem here is because you're working with script folders. I don't /think/ these have the extended properties in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZHCS



Joined: 17 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks James!

Looks like this is exactly the issue we are having.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1121
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah yes,

As far as I know, this is by design unfortunately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group