Red Gate forums :: View topic - What URL to use to connect from a Client
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

What URL to use to connect from a Client

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
pgareis



Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:06 am    Post subject: What URL to use to connect from a Client Reply with quote

What url do I use to connect the SQL Monitor I installed on a Server.
On the Server I connected with http:/127.0.0.1:8080 but what do I use to connect from my desktop??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URL is usually something like http://<serverName>:<portNumber>.

So if I had installed the website on a server called 'fred' then the URL would be http://fred:8080

If the machine is on a different domain or subdomain then it would be safer to fully qualify the machine name. Then the URL would be something like http://fred.example.com:8080 (where example.com is the name of your domain).

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgareis



Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for this. Very Happy Very Happy
This works fine for me.
--
On a related note - is this info out there as an FAQ.
I tried searching for it but could not find it.
Please make this info more Generally available.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have a getting-started guide but after a quick look it doesn't seem to contain this information
http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content/SQL_Monitor/help/3.2/SM_Getting_started

I will make a suggestion to our technical author.

Thanks for the feedback
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group