Red Gate forums :: View topic - Committing a sproc change with command line
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 3
SQL Source Control 3 forum

Committing a sproc change with command line

Search in SQL Source Control 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
lkeith



Joined: 21 Aug 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Committing a sproc change with command line Reply with quote

I have made a change to an sproc in a db not linked to source control (but I could if necessary).

I would like to commit the sproc change to source control using a command line interface.

Is this possible and if so, what can I do?
_________________
lkeith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you can use the command line to do this.

more info here:
http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/content/SQL_Compare/help/10.0/sc_cl_Switches_in_the_cl

use /db1 and /server1 to specify the source
use /scripts2 to specify the target
use /sync to sync to the scripts

And use your source control command line tool to commit to your repository. You'll have to consult the source control tool's documentation to achieve this.

Why is it that you wish to do this?

David Atkinson
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
lkeith



Joined: 21 Aug 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to do this because I am making a change to an SP from a custom utility outside the usual source control and want to commit it to source control so everyone will get the changes.
_________________
lkeith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please give it a go and let us know how you get on. There's no reason why it shouldn't work, although it isn't something that we're asked very often!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
lkeith



Joined: 21 Aug 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, David! Everything worked great. Now instead of modifying the sproc file in the repository and comitting to source control, I changed the SP in the DB then used SQLCompare to move the changes to the scripts repository then simply comitting to source control! Much more straigtforward.

SQLCompare adds some SQL directives at beginning & end of all sproc scripts and all scripts are CREATE, not ALTER. I had to manually add this to each script I put in the repository. Now I don't have to do that since SQLCompare will now.

Thanks again!
_________________
lkeith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group