Red Gate forums :: View topic - Setting a http proxy
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 6
SmartAssembly 6 forum

Setting a http proxy

Search in SmartAssembly 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
marcbee



Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:31 am    Post subject: Setting a http proxy Reply with quote

SmartAssembly version: 6.7.0.239
Windows version: Windows 7 SP1 (client and server machines)

I seem to have a problem setting a web proxy. I am using the sample SDK 'Exception Reporting\5 Secured Proxy' that comes with the SmartAssembly installer and have created a test harness that throws a generic exception. The proxy server I am using is FreeProxy (http://www.handcraftedsoftware.org/) and is hosted on another machine that is connected to the Internet. My dev machine is temporarily not connected to the Internet by setting the gateway address to nothing.

If I use the Windows Internet Options to use a http proxy set to the FreeProxy server, SmartAssembly can send the error report. This works no matter if I set the address, username and password in the SDK example when the proxy is set through Internet Options.

If Internet Options is not configured, and I set the proxy address, username and password in the SDK example only, SmartAssembly fails to send with a the error: 'ERR 2001: The remote name could not be resolved "sawebservice.red-gate.com".

The piece of code that sets the proxy in the sample is:

Code:
WebProxy webProxy = new WebProxy(proxy.Text);
if (userName.Text.Length > 0)
    webProxy.Credentials = new NetworkCredential(userName.Text, password.Text);
unhandledExceptionHandler.SetProxy(webProxy);


I have another application which use a WebClient to download some data, and it also uses a a WebProxy object in exactly the same way as the SmartAssembly sample. This works fine with FreeProxy.

Does anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your message. Can I first double check--is the "I want to use a web proxy server" box ticked in the SmartAssembly UI (under Tools>Options)?
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marcbee



Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It wasn't ticked, but I did set it up. As far as I know the web proxy in the SmartAssembly UI is used for retrieving error reports. This did work for retrieving reports through FreeProxy, but generating a error report still failed when using the sample code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Yes, the proxy that you set up within SmartAssembly specifies how SmartAssembly itself will connect to the web service, but not exactly how your error reports will send out (though users can specify this through the Secured Proxy SDK exception reporting form).
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group