Red Gate forums :: View topic - Anyone Used SQLExpress2008 for the StatsDB
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

Anyone Used SQLExpress2008 for the StatsDB

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
mark_anderson_us



Joined: 28 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 7:16 pm    Post subject: Anyone Used SQLExpress2008 for the StatsDB Reply with quote

Hi Guys

I have a dedicated VM for SQLMonitor and few other utils. I like to get the DB's for SQLMon on here too. Anyone ever tried ti with SQLExpress2008 (will be monitoring regular 2005 and 2008 servers)?

Regards

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 330
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is definitely possible to host your data repository database on a SQL 2008 Express instance. However, the maximum database size for this version is just 4GB. This can cause problems as the database can easily grow beyond this level.

http://consultguru.me/post/2011/09/04/Did-you-Know-Maximum-Database-Size-in-SQLExpress.aspx
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_anderson_us



Joined: 28 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks chris

i'll see how my DB frows on the regular 2008 server and see how long it will take to get to 4GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group