Red Gate forums :: View topic - How do I get 2 columns from a table
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 2
SQL Data Generator 2 forum

How do I get 2 columns from a table

Search in SQL Data Generator 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Andrew Hodge



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 90
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:51 pm    Post subject: How do I get 2 columns from a table Reply with quote

Hi,

Struggling a bit with the data generator. What I want to do is use 2 columns from a SQL Server table to populate 2 columns in an empty table

I want the 2 columns to keep there relationship to each other ie

PropertyRef1 and PropertyRef2 are related and need to populate in the new table the same.

I have tried setting the seed to 0 and changing the population but with no luck. Any suggestions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tilo23



Joined: 22 Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Location: Berkshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know you won't be able to do it in a simple way - but you can apply some workaround. I have this issue quite often, the MERGE script after generation works perfect for me. Details:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb510625.aspx

Seed is useful when you want to set NULLs in the same places; you may also use it if you want some columns to be identical, but doesn't work for the particular order on referencing other tables.
_________________
Inside the Dilbert's world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group