Red Gate forums :: View topic - sp_refreshview in output file
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare 10
SQL Compare 10 forum

sp_refreshview in output file

Search in SQL Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Brujah



Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:52 pm    Post subject: sp_refreshview in output file Reply with quote

Hi

When using Sql Compare 10 thru command line, I got in my output:
EXEC sp_refreshview N'[Schema].[Name]'
for every view in my database

Is there a way to disable this?

I'm using it to compare 2 SQL Source Control scripts folders

C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Compare 10\SQLCompare.exe /scr1:"C:\dB52WorkDir\Jenkins217209\Trunk\sql\Redgate" /scr2:"C:\dB52WorkDir\Jenkins217209\Tag\sql\Redgate" /Options:Default,CaseSensitiveObjectDefinition,DoNotOutputCommentHeader /ScriptFile:"C:\dB52WorkDir\Jenkins217209\Change.sql" /Include:Identical /Force
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember correctly, a side-effect of using /Include:Identical is that all views are refreshed. Omitting this will script a refresh view only for views that are different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brujah



Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi brain

I've included this switch to suppress the exit code if the two data sources are identical.

"If /Include:Identical is not set, and the data sources are identical, SQL Compare returns the error code 63."

is there a way to to suppress this error code, but get rid off the sp_refreshview ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That could be a problem. In the past, I have suggested wrapping the command into a batch file and then at the end, check for %ERRORLEVEL%==63 and then EXIT /B with error code 0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

SQLCompare.exe /db1:...
IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 63 GOTO EQUAL
EXIT /B %ERRORLEVEL%
EQUAL:
EXIT /B 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SQL Compare 10.1 now has an /assertidentical switch that will prevent the exec tasks from failing on identical databases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugo



Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
SQL Compare 10.1 now has an /assertidentical switch that will prevent the exec tasks from failing on identical databases.


Apparently this patch "suggest" I need to buy version 10.1? or is version 10 free for those of us having version 9?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Hugo,

If you have a support agreement that was current at the time of the upgrade, you would get major upgrades for free. Usually a major-version is a paid upgrade.

Just to clarify, this is not a patch or a bugfix - it is a change in design because something that had been acceptable behavior previously is now unwanted simply because of the selling of Continuous Integration that we are currently engaged in.

If you want to keep the current version, there is still the option of wrapping the compare task into a batch file as I'd mentioned previously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry -- sp_refreshiew being added, probably a bug.
Error code 63 unless you use /Include:Identical, a design issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group