Red Gate forums :: View topic - Want to have option to trim Leading Spaces
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum

Want to have option to trim Leading Spaces

Search in SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
vanram



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:17 pm    Post subject: Want to have option to trim Leading Spaces Reply with quote

I just had a data compare that i needed to trim leading spaces as well as trailing spaces. Please could you add this option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 330
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your suggestion. I have created a Feature Request (SDC-1303) for our development team to take in to consideration.
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1124
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you create a view that does the trimming and sync that back to the original table?

David Atkinson
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vanram



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree that should work. This should have limited performance affect but would be another object in the DB to maintain...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1124
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So this is a regular use case rather than a one off? Can I ask why you are ending up with unwanted spaces in your fields?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vanram



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure how frequent this issue will be.

This comes about due to the source being a field coming from our ERP system (AS400) that is a concatenated string, we do now know how the spaces at the begining of this field come to be included.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1124
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have had customers who have trailing spaces in their data (and therefore we have an option in the tool to trim these), but I think you're the first to have leading spaces. I guess my advice would be to try to fix the problem at the source, or to use the View suggestion if it's an infrequent occurrence.

If we get further requests for this, it's something we would definitely consider adding as an option.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vanram



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough, thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group