Red Gate forums :: View topic - Prepend text to command line script file
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare Previous Versions
SQL Compare Previous Versions forum

Prepend text to command line script file

Search in SQL Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
brian.merz



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:00 pm    Post subject: Prepend text to command line script file Reply with quote

As a future feature request, would it be possible to add an option to prepend text to a saved script file generated from the command line? This could aid in reducing human error as the default database when starting management studio is not always the one I am targeting.

In the ideal world I would like to be able to add

"use </db2:argument>
go"

to the top of the file to prevent those occasions where I do not change from the default database to the desired database.

Keep up the great work!
--Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your positive comments. I will follow this up with the product management team.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SQL Compare has an option to add a USE Database statement to it's script. It's off by default so simply needs to be enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group