Red Gate forums :: View topic - Memory Performance Counter for child process
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Memory Profiler 7
ANTS Memory Profiler 7 forum

Memory Performance Counter for child process

Search in ANTS Memory Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
spenceee



Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:55 am    Post subject: Memory Performance Counter for child process Reply with quote

G'day,

Is it possible to show the memory performance counter graphs for a child process (across the top of the window). We have an app that is hosted in multiple ways, but the meat of the app is actually process isolated into the child. We don't have .Net 4.0 otherwise I would attach directly.

If this isn't possible, perhaps I could lodge an improvement request for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G'day mate Smile

I guess you mean- show *only* the memory usage of the child process (since ANTS *will* show memory used by child process but will aggregate all memory per process).

I can raise this as a feature request; thanks for the suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spenceee



Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running 7.1 memory profiler and this is not correct.

I'm profiling a windows service that has a child process which I'm debugging. The graph of memory counts across the top of the screen are ONLY the counters of the service process, not the child process.

Perhaps I've done something wrong? Definately all the analysis works perfectly on the child, it would just be nice to view the memory peaks and troughs on the graph when selecting baselines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to check- there is an explicit option to profile child processes on the initial profiling start screen. So that's definitely checked?

Do you know which API call is used to start the process? Some calls, such as process.start() won't get picked up...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group