Red Gate forums :: View topic - Performance Profiler is not working at all
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 6
ANTS Performance Profiler 6 forum

Performance Profiler is not working at all

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you open a command prompt and run netstat -a -b this should tell you which program is already listening on the port. Then you can close that program. Or choose a different port.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arame3333



Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am surprised that I have to do that.
Anyway I did what you suggested.
In the virtual directory I put /http://localhost:2558/
For the Port to bind web server I put in one of the port numbers that came back from that command you gave me.
Now I get a launch. The error message on the launched web page is; HTTP Error 400 - Bad Request.
_________________
Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant. Moshe Feldenkrais
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the settings for "profile hosted in development webserver", the virtual directory specification is the part after the server and port. Usually just a forward-slash / is good enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arame3333



Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not know what you mean by "profile hosted in development webserver".
I tried putting a forward slash in the Web Server virtual directory, but that did not work.
_________________
Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant. Moshe Feldenkrais
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two ways to profile a web application in the profiler project settings. Hosted in IIS and Hosted in development web server. The one that has the box for virtual directory is development webserver. So I assume you're using that.

And now what does it do? It should not be a bad request. It did that because you seem to have put an entire URL in the virtual directory box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arame3333



Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to my previous message, I put in /http://localhost:2558/
Is that wrong?
_________________
Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant. Moshe Feldenkrais
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please send another screenshot. If you follow the instructions I have been giving, it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group