Red Gate forums :: View topic - Feature request: Synchronization insert type option
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum

Feature request: Synchronization insert type option

Search in SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Kasper Bengtsen



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:48 am    Post subject: Feature request: Synchronization insert type option Reply with quote

When doing a synchronization script following a compare, it is not possible to take into account that the data being inserted might already exist.

A "synchronization type" (or the like) option for the synchronization script could take this into account, dictating the behaviour of insert statements.

The type options could be:
1. Insert without checking
2. Insert only new rows

(more could be thought up)
This would be checked on the comparison key.


Example of where this would be useful:
If it is possible to do localization of labels at different locations (each with a dedicated database), these localizations could be "harvested" to a central repository, and all localizations be re-deployed back to all installations, using the same synchronization script.

In this case the installation that was the origin of a localized label will have the data already, and checking for existence will be necessary, otherwise the insert will fail.


(.. or am I missing an existing option here Smile )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post.

I wasn't quite sure what you meant here unfortunately. If you've done a compare, then the synchronization script will be built from the differences that finds. So it should never end up in a situation where it's trying to insert a record that already exists (it would update it instead).

The only caveat here is if you're talking about where you generate a sync-script from one set of data, but you may want to apply that to another set of data.

This isn't something that you can easily do - even SQL Packager would want to compare against the target database.

It's something you could potentially achieve using the SDK so the comparison phase is actually run against the target database though?

Hope that makes sense - if I've misunderstood, let me know!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasper Bengtsen



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it would be hard to explain. Smile
But still, it would be of great value.

I'm talking about a feature similar to the "Action type" option in the scripting tool http://www.sqlscripter.com/
We currently use this tool along with the RedGate compare tools, exactly because the RedGate tools do not support this.
(I probably just violated some forum rules right there ... just edit post to comply)

It has value when you apply the same synchronization script to several databases, and some databases might already contain the data being inserted.
That way the script can be used as part of an upgrade package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I think that makes sense.

All our products currently build their scripts from an A>B comparison so for upgrades where data may already exist, there's no easy way around it right now.

The SDK solution I mentioned (if you want to go down the road of writing your own app using our DLLs) is the only way as then the comparison is occurring directly against the target rather than "in advance".

Hope that makes sense!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasper Bengtsen



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok .. again thanks for your quick reponse.

I will check out the SDK (or handle this problem in some other manner).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group