Red Gate forums :: View topic - varbinary being cutoff at 8000
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions
SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum

varbinary being cutoff at 8000

Search in SQL Data Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
gmoore



Joined: 19 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:49 pm    Post subject: varbinary being cutoff at 8000 Reply with quote

I'm having issues when creating a script for a table that that has a column varbinary(MAX). Some of the records has datalength over 8000, after running the script created it's cutting off those records at 8000. I can't find any setting or how to avoid this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post.

Is the column varbinary(max) on both the source and the target table?
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gmoore



Joined: 19 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I'll test this out. It sounds like a bug.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of SQL Data Compare are you using?

I just tried synchronising a VARBINARY(max) column with 36466 characters, and that migrated ok.

Would you be able to send me the DDL for both tables, so I can try and recreate the same project?
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gmoore



Joined: 19 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok noticed what I did wrong, I modified the key value in the script created but didn't notice it had broken the larger binary rows into blocks of 8000 chars, so the following updates didn't run after the original insert.

Thanks for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group