Red Gate forums :: View topic - unable to detect Base Monitor
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 2
SQL Monitor 2 forum

unable to detect Base Monitor

Search in SQL Monitor 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
thirster42



Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:19 pm    Post subject: unable to detect Base Monitor Reply with quote

Well, i went to my SQL Monitor 2, and apparently it can't connect to my Base Monitor. I've got everything installed on my local machine. It says to check the service, but i have no idea what service it's looking for.

here's the screenshot i have



The install was a standard install, so that should be the port number.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

If you run Services.msc the name of the service is "SQL Monitor 2 Base Monitor". It's possible that this isn't started for some reason.

Hope this helps
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thirster42



Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i feel a little silly. I ended up finding the service. Apparently it failed because the service was running as my username, and i just recently changed my password. Changed the stored password and restarted the service and now everything's fine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad it's working for you.

I think it's a good point that the webpage asks the user to check that the service is running but doesn't actually specify what the service is called. Hence I've raised an enhancement request SRP-3041.

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
urid



Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:26 am    Post subject: Unable to detect Base Monitor Reply with quote

Hello
I have encounter exactly the same problem, but my Base Monitor is running up and it is under my account (member of sysadmin server role)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
priyasinha



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Is there any kind of firewall betwen the web server and base monitor machine? If yes then you would be required to open the appropriate ports to allow the communication between these two machines.

Thanks,
Priya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group