Red Gate forums :: View topic - Tabbed Decompiling not Working
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
.NET Reflector 7 EAP
.NET Reflector 7 EAP forum

Tabbed Decompiling not Working

Search in .NET Reflector 7 EAP forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
walbalooshi



Joined: 23 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 12:00 am    Post subject: Tabbed Decompiling not Working Reply with quote

I am not sure if there is an option that needs to be set, but whenever I decompile a class it replaces the previous tab. I am not able to have more than one tab open. The left and right arrows next to the one open tab move me properly through the history of classes that I have decompiled, but I still can only see one at a time.

Also, clicking the "Quick Access for all Tabs" drop down only shows the current tab.

Can someone confirm that this isn't a bug on my end or an option that I have forgotten to enable. I haven't changed any settings; this is from a fresh extraction of the file that I downloaded called Reflector_7.0.0.198_Deploy.

I am using:

Windows 7 Pro x64

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,


Sorry, I only just spotted that nobody had got back to you.

You used to have to hit CTRL+Click to open a new tab, however the new beta builds supports the standard middle-click approach so you should find it's working OK now. If not, please let me know.


Thanks,


Bart
_________________
=============================
Bart Read
www.bartread.com/blog
=============================
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tillig



Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without having seen this forum, I'd have never guessed how this works. I right-clicked on labels in the Assembly Browser, I right-clicked in the tab well... I right-clicked all over the place looking for an "Open in New Tab" option and never found it.

Might be something to consider adding, or at least a tool tip in the tab well that says to Ctrl+Click for a new tab. Or even a button in the tab well to start a new/empty tab for additional browsing.

Also, a possible defect with the way new tabs are created:
1) Create a new list with the .NET 4 assemblies in it.
2) Select the System.Xml assembly and decompile it so you have a tab with something in it (the assembly attributes).
3) Ctrl+Click the System.Core assembly so there are now two tabs - one with the System.Xml assembly attributes, one with the System.Core assembly attributes.
4) Close the System.Core tab. Note that System.Core is still selected in the Assembly Browser, but there's no tab for it.
5) Ctrl+Click System.Core again to re-open the tab. No tab opens.
6) Select a different assembly in the Assembly Browser.
7) Ctrl+Click System.Core again and the tab properly re-opens.

I arbitrarily chose System.Xml and System.Core in the example, but it doesn't matter which assemblies you select; the point is you can't re-open a tab for something that is already selected in the Assembly Browser.[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group