Red Gate forums :: View topic - Database error, cant run SA
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 5
SmartAssembly 5 forum

Database error, cant run SA

Search in SmartAssembly 5 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it actually seems to start processing the input file, had an error in another one and it reported a missing reference before any database error.

Right now I am at the point of giving up on using the MSBuild task and rewriting all my builds. Cleaned the build machine from all remains of redgate and smartassembly - assemblies and registry entries - reinstalled SA 5.5 from scratch and get the same error. I deleted the database, reset file and folder security, cleaned the GAC, but all of that with no better results.

I even reinstalled SA 5.0 just to see the same result. Which now points to something pretty off the reach of SA, probably something in the build pipeline, interfering with SA and its access to the database. What that could be, I have not the slightest idea.

Keep you posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:50 pm    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

You wont believe it but the culprit is a VS2010 extension which has nothing to do with the build process.

VSCommands2010 http://vscommands.com
Among some really useful things, it "enhances" the output window with color coding. Seems that during that process it messes with the build tasks in general.

Uninstalled, SA works fine. Reinstalled, SA breaks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Alex.Davies



Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 335
Location: Cambridge, uk

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the information, we'll be asking people about that if anyone else has similar inexplicable problems with MSBuild.
_________________
Alex
Developer,
Red Gate .NET Tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After digging deeper into it, the main problem seems to be that in the failure case, the build system used is mixed up.
See:

Code:
Output file "obj\Release\MyProject.pdb" does not exist.
Using "Csc" task from assembly "Microsoft.Build.Tasks.v4.0, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a".
Task "Csc" (TaskId:16)
  C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Csc.exe .... (TaskId:16)
Done executing task "Csc". (TaskId:16)


against:

Code:
Output file "obj\Release\MyProject.pdb" does not exist.
Task "Csc" (TaskId:16)
  C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Csc.exe .... (TaskId:16)
Done executing task "Csc". (TaskId:16)


Other differences are:
* some build symbols defined differently (might be a result of the build system versions)
* startup folders different (VS2010 IDE installation against solution base)

I guess that this kind of problem might occur in other situations with other extensions I guess, so it might be interesting to investigate this deeper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group