Red Gate forums :: View topic - .NET Reflector add-in incompatible with Resharper ?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
.Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro
.Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro forum

.NET Reflector add-in incompatible with Resharper ?

Search in .Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
tom103



Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: .NET Reflector add-in incompatible with Resharper ? Reply with quote

In the Visual Studio code editor, when I click on "Open in .NET Reflector" in the context menu, Resharper kicks in and shows me the declaration of the item (not its source), and the Reflector add-in displays this message :

Quote:
The source code already exists for this item, so you do not need to use .NET Reflector


So, since I installed Resharper, I haven't been able to use Reflector in VS.

Not sure if the bug is because of Resharper or .NET Reflector...

EDIT: it is the same issue described in this topic. I didn't find it at first because it didn't mention the exact error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alex.Davies



Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 335
Location: Cambridge, uk

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not really either of our fault, I've been working with the guys at JetBrains. The trouble is that the only way it was feasible to add this feature in Reflector is by piggybacking on VS's go to definition (F12) feature. Without doing that, we would have to implement a complete parser for the language.

Of course R# does implement a parser, and extends the go to definition in ways the Reflector add-in can't deal with.

It usually works if you set R# to open the Object Browser when you press F12.
_________________
Alex
Developer,
Red Gate .NET Tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom103



Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex, thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately, that's not what I want... I still want to see the definition when I press F12. I only want to open Reflector when I explicitly use the "Open in .NET Reflector" menu option
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwhite



Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:06 pm    Post subject: Any solutions on the horizon? Reply with quote

Are there any solutions for this? I love R# and Reflector Pro. I use F12 to go to the metadata. It does work against the Object Browser, but it ruins the work flow to have to navigate to the object browser just to bring up Reflector.

-Damien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clive Tong



Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but we don't have a solution to this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iluzyani



Joined: 23 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't know if this is the same problem, but I use the following workaround:
Uncheck option "Enable navigation to external sources" at Resharper Options -> Tools -> External Sources
OR leave it enabled, but move "Object browser" item to top of the list. Works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alex.Davies



Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 335
Location: Cambridge, uk

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's what I meant when I said:
"It usually works if you set R# to open the Object Browser when you press F12."

Thanks for the extra details how to do that, I'd forgotten.
_________________
Alex
Developer,
Red Gate .NET Tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iluzyani



Joined: 23 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, didn't got it from your comment. Basically, I tried to answer to tom103's problem. And I don't have problems with F12 after setup, works as should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group