Red Gate forums :: View topic - search using partial table names
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt Previous Versions
SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum

search using partial table names

Search in SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
klininger



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:15 pm    Post subject: search using partial table names Reply with quote

Is there a way to search for a partial database name besides the default of "table name starts with"?

The databases we work with have between 400 and 1300 tables. Without getting into the need to slim the database (out of our hands at the moment), you can see why I'd like this feature.

Thanks!

Kurt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klininger



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: additional info Reply with quote

I should add that I'm specifically asking about when one types

select * from {cursor here}

Would be nice to be able to type %something% and get all tables with "something" in the name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kurt,

If I am understanding this correctly, you would like to create a SELECT statement, and be able to select multiple tables to pull information from using SQL Prompt, and have it automatically insert joins for you to?

For example, if we use the below code:

Code:
USE AdventureWorks
GO
SELECT * FROM  Person.Contact
JOIN Sales.ContactCreditCard ON Person.Contact.ContactID = Sales.ContactCreditCard.ContactID


You would expect to type in Prompt:

Code:
SELECT * FROM %contact%


And then select all the tables with "contact" in and have Prompt automatically create the join in the previous code snippet?

Many thanks!

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
klininger



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Peter,

Thanks for the reply!

Actually, my first real need is to select just one table from a vey long list of tables. Many of the tables have the same very long (10 character) prefix. This means that currently, even with SQL Prompt, I will have to either type the whole prefix, or wade thru a long list.

Even for tables with no prefix, Many times I remember the end of the table name but not the beginning. This would be another case where searching for a partial name would help in finding one table for a simple SELECT.

Thanks again for helping.

Kurt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kurt,

Many thanks for clarifying this, I have added a feature request in the system for this under SP-2912. I am sure it will be considered for a future release of the tool.

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
klininger



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:21 pm    Post subject: Feature Request Reply with quote

Thanks Pete

You may be able to imagine (because of our environment mentioned above) that this feature was actually the one thing I was looking for in a "SQL Prompt"-like program.

Thanks for adding that.

Kurt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeONeill



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I posted a similar request fro using Camel case shortcuts

eg BatchValueView would be accessed by <bvv> , as you see in Visual Assist X etc ie filtering on the Camel Case capitals

Looks like 2 votes

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mike,

Thanks for that, I have added your comments too to the feature request logged under SP-2912.

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hdomer



Joined: 25 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:47 pm    Post subject: Also looking for this feature SP-2912 Reply with quote

Please put my company down for this feature, SP-2912, as well. Many people here have talked about it.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sriramphani



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:01 pm    Post subject: Where is the setting Reply with quote

Where should I configure in order to get full table name when typing partial table name?

Thanks,
Sriram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klininger



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: ETA Reply with quote

Peter,

Practically every day I wish I could use SQLPrompt. I won't be able to sell the idea without this feature, though. Do you have an idea when this feature could possibly be implemented?

Thanks!

Kurt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately we can't say at this point when the feature will be implemented. The backlog for v5 has already been finalized, and the project is currently in full swing. However, we will consider this for v6 alongside all the other requests we get. The more popular this one proves to be, the more likely we'll consider implementing it!

Thanks for voicing your views!

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CodantiM



Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:53 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

David Atkinson wrote:
Unfortunately we can't say at this point when the feature will be implemented. The backlog for v5 has already been finalized, and the project is currently in full swing.


Any chance you can share what SP-IDs have made the cut and are planned to get included/fixed in v5? (I have my list of 27 pet bugs/suggestions that I would like to see fixed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The next release is very focused on the implementation of three new features.

1) Show Dependencies (including at column level)
2) Find Invalid Objects (objects that reference objects that no longer exist)
3) Script as Alter (right click on your object in a query window and script it as Alter to a new query window)
4) All SQL Refactor features will be integrated into SQL Prompt 5

Other than for critical bug fixes, we're not planning to enhance code completion or formatting for v5.

If you're interested in trying out v5 early access builds, let me know and I'll put you on our distribution list.

Kind regards,

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CodantiM



Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

David Atkinson wrote:
The next release is very focused on the implementation of three new features.

1) Show Dependencies (including at column level)
2) Find Invalid Objects (objects that reference objects that no longer exist)
3) Script as Alter (right click on your object in a query window and script it as Alter to a new query window)
4) All SQL Refactor features will be integrated into SQL Prompt 5

Other than for critical bug fixes, we're not planning to enhance code completion or formatting for v5.

If you're interested in trying out v5 early access builds, let me know and I'll put you on our distribution list.


David,

When does Reg Gate plan on focusing on fixing the identified and confirmed bugs in SQL Prompt? While v4 introduced some new features it also introduced a lot of new bugs that still haven't been fixed, along with bugs from v3 that are still in there. Should we expect the same with v5, new features but even more bugs and broken existing functionality?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group